weird DRE's

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by diegoa1, Aug 28, 2007.

Aug 28, 2007

weird DRE's by diegoa1 at 11:24 PM (872 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. diegoa1
    OP

    Newcomer diegoa1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i did a wire install of my wiikey a little over a month ago on a d2b with 3 clipped legs and a missing pad. it has played all gamecube and wii backups fine, with only the occasional DRE that i'm sure we all get from time to time... nothing the reset button doesn't fix. all my backups are on sony dvd-r, by the way. but today i started getting several DREs while playing MP3, mostly while waiting for the game to load while opening doors. i would eject the disc, pop it back in and it continued normally. until i finally got the black screen telling me there was an error, to eject the disc, and power off. so i turned it off and figured i would let my wii rest awhile. i came back to it about an hour ago, popped MP3 back in... showed up on the disc channel, so i click to start. loads up the main menu, so i go to continue my game, it's taking awhile to load... then i hear a few unsettling clicks... and the error screen! i eject the disc and can't shut it off normally with the power button, so i unplug it from the wall. this is happening with every wii backup that i have now. it will load until the main portion of the game is loading, then it will go to the error screen. i always have to unplug it from the wall. gamecube backups are working fine. wii sports original is working fine for me. on a side note, i turned on wiiconnect24 earlier and added some wii codes to share vouchers on MP3.. i don't think this would have anything to do with my problem, just putting it out there. i've gone through wiikey config and turned off region override and sound fix also. could the 6x disc speed be causing these problems? if anyone could offer some insight i'd appreciate it. btw i'm on 3.0u.
     
  2. Vulpix

    Vulpix Newbie

    It seems like I'm also encountering the same exact problem after playing Metroid Prime 3. I wonder if the update did anything weird to our Wiikey...
     
  3. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    try rerunning the config disc and redo the settings, then once done make sure to use a game from the correct region first off (maybe even an original)

    i got this info else where, i have no-idea if may work.
     
  4. Vulpix

    Vulpix Newbie

    Tried that but no use. I'm going to replace my wiikey and see if it helps.
     
  5. diegoa1
    OP

    Newcomer diegoa1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    let me know if that works Vulpix. i haven't found a solution for this problem yet. i opened the wii up last night to check the connections. everything looks fine, so i'm thinking maybe all the loading from mp3 put too much stress on the lens. then again, originals work fine, so i'm stumped. either way, i hope our wiikeys didn't get disabled by nintendo lol
     

Share This Page