weird computer problem

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Zendrik, Aug 8, 2007.

Aug 8, 2007

weird computer problem by Zendrik at 11:31 PM (740 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Zendrik
    OP

    Member Zendrik GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Im helping my friend reformat his system. Windows boots fine, there is no problem. Games/programs/internet surfing are working flawless. The problem is that when we put the Windows XP SP2 disk in the computer and boot from it, it states that there are no hard drives detected. The disk works fine in my system, his drives are seen in my system(both OS and Windows Setup). We have reseated the cords in his system. I cannot understand why the OS sees the drives but Windows Setup cannot.
     
  2. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Is the computer old? Cause the BIOS may be too old.
     
  3. Slippy

    Newcomer Slippy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    NE USA
    Country:
    United States
    What type of hard drives are they? IDE or SATA?
     
  4. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    You may need a raid or sata driver if it's too old
     
  5. Zendrik
    OP

    Member Zendrik GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I knew i forgot to mention something in post. The drive is SATA and the bios has options for the SATA drives so im pretty sure the mobo supports SATA.

    edit


    We are currently using my sata cables in his computer. After that, we will put my hd in his computer. I will update our findings after that.
     
  6. capt.fruitcake

    Newcomer capt.fruitcake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Xanadu
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You need to load sata drivers during set-up by pressing f8 or something (read it's there the info) and ofcourse the driver disk can be made on another computer by looking in the driver folders that came with the sata controller or main-board.
     
  7. Zendrik
    OP

    Member Zendrik GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    Country:
    United States
    But the same disk works just fine on my system that only has SATA also. Do these drivers still need to be loaded on my friends computer during the setup.

    edit

    Neither the cable nor HD swap worked. I think capt fruitcake is correct but we do not have a floppy drive. Is there any chance that the drivers could be booted off of a USB hard drive/thumb drive or a different cd?

    edit2

    We have installed XP on these exact SATA drives before and had no problem.
     
  8. capt.fruitcake

    Newcomer capt.fruitcake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Xanadu
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Loading sata drivers during xp install is prety much must. and yeah you should be able to load from usb drive or put them on your setup disk.
     
  9. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried updating to SP2 by downloading it off the internet? Or are you using a dodgy copy of windows?
     
  10. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i use a dodgy copy of windows but m$ thinks it's fully legit lol
     
  11. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page