WD My Passport Essentials clicking, drive not recognised

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by bazamuffin, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First off, I've posted this here as the drive is used primarily for Wiiflow. I used WBM yesterday, and all seemed fine, but when I plugged it back in to my Wii the loader doesn't recognise it. I then noticed that the drive was making 10 clicks after the Wii was turned. I'm kinda prepared to hear that it's shagged, just a bit miffed at some of the info that could be lost.

    I know I'm clutching at straws, but is there any software or "tricks" that could get this working (aside from the "freezer" one)?
     


  2. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    In my computer repair class I use to go by this saying a lot: "If the Hard Drive clicks, it ain't worth dick."

    Saved me a great headache in troubleshooting in the long run. Sorry to tell you, your HDD has just shit the proverbial bed.
     
  3. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The drive ain't worth dick but the info is. Might have to get a data recovery expert on it
     
  4. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    If you are really desperate to get the info on it, you may try sticking it in the freezer for a few minutes and then plug it in. Not much else you can do. You can pay for data recovery, but it's expensive. You won't get more than a few minutes at a time with the freezer trick, but it's better than nothing.
     
  5. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't work, tried it already. Looks like its proper fluffed. Cheers for the replies dude
     
  6. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just found a company that does recovery for £97 fixed price, not bad compared to most. They list what they can recover before you pay so you know what you're getting, and if they don't recover all that they say they can you get a full refund
     
  7. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    HDD regenerator can be found in Hiren Boot CD. It has a 50/50 chance of either busting your HDD or fixing it so you can recover your data then throw it into a bin

    A HDD with the same symptoms came here not too long ago, and yeah, was pretty much screwed.
     
  8. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will give it a rasp, cheers

    EDIT: HDD Regenerator isn't on Hiren's, grabbed v15
     
  9. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Search for a Hiren restored edition . They are really easy to find & include all the extra tools removed from the official release .
     
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Classic crash...
    Had the same type of Drive crashed 2 time before.
    Although the surface of the drive maybe damaged there could be a way to get it to boot...
    Try holding the drive to your ear and give it a quick twist so the drive inside itself turns ( you can hear it turn )
    If it's stuck it stops instanly, if it's turns it maybe able to boot.
    Also slapping might help. (nothing to lose right? )
    If it loose but will not boot, it could be a faulty servo..in that case it's fried...
    It's not a solution but, it may help you recover your files.....

    Good luck.

    EDIT, this also happened 2 times to me With WBM..Did you remove games with WBM?
     
  11. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you tried plugging it into your computer?
     
  12. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, should've mentioned that in my opener. Laptop won't pick it up. @ Hielkenator, yes I did add and remove games with WBM. It was immediately after that the drive problem occured
     
  13. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    HHD regenerator is available since hiren 9+ (I have 10.1)
     
  14. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It wont pick up external drives will it?
     
  15. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    why use WBM to remove wbfs files? (unless your hdd is formated with a wbfs partition). ntfs an fat32 you can just right click/delete. the only time i use WBM is to change from ios to wbfs.. an this is 1 reason why i never formated to wbfs.
    hope you get it fixed. have you tried disk managment? to try an pick the harddrive up, you could have a bad sector. even then it would still need to be reformated. but it might beable to get some data off it if this works (had my brothers harddrive do this one time before)
     
  16. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was adding a file (.iso 4.37gb) so while I was there I removed a game. I prefer to use the manager that I used to install the iso to remove them as well. NEVER had a problem with WBM until this point
     
  17. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sorry to let you know but I have had problems a few times. I never remove games again via WBM. I think somtimes it acts up.
    Just recently I lost about 70% of all my games that way. WBM managed to screw something up in my wbfs folder....
    Everytime I plugged it in WBM said some games were invalid.

    If you are on a wbfs partition, good luck!
     
  18. Cilph

    Newcomer Cilph Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I doubt WBM can demolish a harddrive when it's just using standard read/write routines available by the OS.
     
  19. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    there have been many post with WBM messing up harddrives (fragmenting the info). to me this is one reason why loaders an others are moving away from wbfs format, an moving on to ntfs/fat32. fat32 impo is a more stable the either but each to his own.
     
  20. bazamuffin
    OP

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah mate, it was a FAT32 partition, moved away from WBFS a looooooong time ago. I've come to accept that its fucked, won't be buying a WD for my next one. The middle child has my old Buffalo 120gb (WBFS) and its still fighting on, and he batters it. Will probably go for a 500gb Buffalo on my next one. Thanks for all the replies guys
     

Share This Page