WBFS and PS3, it works?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MCBarkingSpoon, Jul 17, 2011.

Jul 17, 2011

WBFS and PS3, it works? by MCBarkingSpoon at 6:23 PM (2,628 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    I was told to have a separate partition for both systems but alas. I switch the cable back to PS3 and the files are there and working. Even shows the Wii images. Wii works the same way. I have folders like this
    wbfs
    VIDEO
    AUDIO
    PICTURES

    You get the drift.

    When did this start working that I didn't need a partition?

    (Disclaimer: I do NOT suggest this.)
     


  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    why wouldn't it work?
    its just a partition containing data
    you could use it on other things too: pc, dvd-player whatever

    problems arise only is two systems do not have a supported filesystem in common
    or if the expect different data under the same filename

    edit:
    about the thread name
    you are not using a wbfs partition but .wbfs files
    the former would not work of course
     
  3. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but i don't have a partition that's whats killing me bro. I just unplug and then plug in to the next.
     
  4. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    To clarify what PsyBlade was saying; If you try to use a WBFS formatted drive on a PS3 it will not work and you'll need another partion that isn't WBFS, but you aren't using WBFS (the filesystem), you are using .wbfs files, there is a difference.
     
  5. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    what does having a partition table or not to do with pluging the drive in?
    btw last time I tried most wii homebrew did not work with a fat32 directly on the device
    I think you confused some things along the way
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, your drive DOES have a partition, since HDDs must have at least one to be useful. In this case, you have 1 partition that occupies the entire drive, and is formatted with a FAT32 (or possibly NTFS) filesystem.

    The WBFS filesystem and .WBFS files are entirely different things. What you have is .WBFS files sitting on a FAT32 or NTFS formatted drive. If you had the WBFS filesystem, your PS3 wouldn't be able to use the drive.

    Any device capable of working with the filesystem can use the drive. As long as filenames don't conflict (e.g. one device expects content A in file.dat, while a second expects entirely different data in the same file), you can use a single drive with as many devices as you wish.
     
  7. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    based on his folders I'm guessing homebrew isn't his main goal [​IMG]
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    not necesarily, sd cards and usb sticks are sometimes used without, as were most floppys
    this can be done with hdds too, works fine on normal computers,
    but in my test it did not work with HBC or CFG loader
     
  9. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's about a year and a half now that you can use a FAT32 or a NTFS partition for wii games now (before that, wii games required a WBFS one). Tell whomever told you to use a separate partition that he's waaaaaaay living in the past. And seeing how you got it all to work on one partition, at least the guide you followed to set things up is more up to date. [​IMG]


    (and though it's more or less noted already: a partitioning system is pretty much "a way to store data on a disk". You can dumb it down to "how the humongous amounts of 0's and 1's are ordered into something that makes sense". FAT32 and NTFS are standard ways, so it's normal that they can be used on other systems. The WBFS partitioning is the way normal wii disks are ordered. it was the only way back then...it isn't now...but not everyone got the memo that things have improved since the first wii hacks ever).
     
  10. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    OK, it's a fat32 and the wii program made the whole thing its drive.
    But I can also plug it into the PS3 and use it that way. It has all my PS3 videos.
    Do I have to unplug and take a screenie? [​IMG]
     
  11. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Why would you need to proof that, its the expected behaviour?
     
  12. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    NO but it works fine. I don't see what the big stink is.

    I made a big fat32 and it runs both systems, end of story Prince Jackhammer.
    Just drop it already. Thought I'd help out people.
     
  13. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    By all means: yes! Make a screenie. And mail it to whomever told you to use a separate partition.

    But it's certainly not needed here. We tend to keep things up to date around these parts. [​IMG]
     
  14. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    OMG Thank you, I thought I was the only one who got it.
     
  15. MCBarkingSpoon
    OP

    Member MCBarkingSpoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    You guys are busting on me now for not knowing aren't ya? [​IMG]
     
  16. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    On systems with Linux, yes. However, Windows will refuse to use an HDD if the partition table is missing or empty. The drive appears in disk management with its contents being a single large block of Unallocated Space, and requires you to make a partition in order to use it.

    While you can use the unallocated space directly with appropriate software, Windows will not assign a drive letter to unallocated space, programs requiring a drive letter cannot be used with it, and disk tools will report the disk as being unallocated.
     
  17. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    hmm seems you are right
    really thought I tried that once

    Damnit

    Do you know of a good way to convert a fat32 from no partitioning to mbr?
    Shouldn't be hard to do but I guess its just a little bit uncommon.
     
  18. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    They aren't busting on you for not knowing, but for creating a new topic thinking you've discovered Noah's Ark and not knowing [​IMG]

    -Erik
     
  19. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    The one time I ever did this, I just copied the files to another device, partitioned (using a Linux live CD since Windows doesn't support it), then put them back. Not fast, but works if you have enough free space.

    I can't think of any Windows tool that can even partition an SD, let alone convert an MBR-less one...I just checked partition magic, and it won't even touch an SD card (doesn't appear in the device list).

    Also, it should be noted that Windows PCs don't properly support partitioned removable media...when I used a partitioned SD, I had trouble accessing the data on it since Windows expects removable media to have no MBR.

    Windows creates drive letters for removable storage readers (media card, floppy, and optical) based upon the reader hardware, not the media inserted in it. This typically means you get one drive letter per slot/tray, and it assumes that the drive's contents are comprised of everything on the inserted media. Adding an MBR can make Windows report your card as unformatted.

    I've seen exceptions to this rule (mainly with Realtek hardware and the provided drivers), but it's not common.
     
  20. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    I was thinking about HDDs with WBFS.
    Even if it does not work (in win) with normal FSs, one might still have a unpartitioned WBFS drive (or is there something else preventing that?).
    I want to convert that to a fat32 drive which works in windows too. Not having copy everything is kinda the point there.
    The reactions to messages like "your drive was just converted from WBFS to FAT32, but now you have to copy the games on it regardless, using linux" might be funny thought.
    But well cant be to hard to code if I finally find some motivation.
    tnx

    I've been using usbsticks with two partitions for quite some time.
    Worked fine on various win/lin/osx pcs.

    And my iirc the official sd-formater does create one big mbr partition.
    Because every single one of my sd-cards has one.
     

Share This Page