Ways to use USB drives to play games

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by NicholasJames2378, Jan 16, 2013.

?

Have you modded your PS2?

  1. Yes :)

    50.0%
  2. No

    50.0%
Jan 16, 2013
  1. NicholasJames2378
    OP

    Newcomer NicholasJames2378 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I would like to use the PS2's USB ports to play game backups off of my flash drive. Can anyone help me? I need to know any and all ways you guys can tell me about how to do it. Also, are there any completely free ways? I have a PS2 SCPH 90001 (Date Code 8C) and 2 blank DVD-R disks I can use. I also have a 32MB memory card available to me. Thanks. Free ways are appreciated, but I will try anything.
     
  2. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Easiest way is to find someone you can trust to install FCMB to a memory card for you. You can also do this yourself but it's a little tricky sometimes and requires you to own a game that can be used for the exploit.

    Info to do it yourself can be found here: http://freemcboot.info/

    After that, you just need OPL (Open PS2 Loader) and boom, USB loading. When I am not loading games from a network, I have a partition of my hard drive dedicated to PS2 backups.
     
  3. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An 8c PS2 SCPH 9xxxxx isn't FMCB compatible. You'll need to chip it.
     
  4. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive had a look at a few compatibility lists for this open loader but they seem a bit light on information. Anyone have this who can shed any light on whether compatibility is high? Ive got a fat ps2 sat doing nothing thats fully working and wouldnt mind getting hold of a few games and running them from hard drive
     
  5. Tuddles

    Member Tuddles GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Canada
    yup he is 100% right only thing to do is install a modchip as your unit is too new. Be cheaper to buy a used ps2 then a modchip probley
     

Share This Page