Way to know new Wiis system version??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sentinel5000, May 19, 2009.

May 19, 2009
  1. sentinel5000
    OP

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Hi to all. Well my question is If there is a way to know which version a new Wii has before buying it, as in going to the store (gamestop) and looking for something on the box or any other thing. Im going to buy a new one and dont really want to go thru that virgin 4.0 things. So if anyone knows please tell me. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Serial numbers don't have anything to do with the firmware so no I don't think there is a way unless you turn the wii on itself and check, but you can still see if you can avoid getting an LU64+ serial wii, but I'm not sure about availability of those or if all new Wii's are those now or something.
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    check if the box says: MADE 2006...??? [​IMG] I don't think there is a mark on the box that tells you wich FW has on it, but if you keep waiting too long, you'll probably get a 4.0..!! [​IMG]
     
  4. dahun

    Newcomer dahun Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    actually the serail number gets bigger like 1 or 5 5 is bigger and or changes in some other way. there is an order so they can keep track of them it might not be the bigger one but probly is.
     
  5. sentinel5000
    OP

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Thats the sad part, I think I waited too long...
     
  6. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    What's even worse to think about is that there are plenty of people who will never soft mod that have low firmware, low serial # Wiis.
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well remember that you can still softmod the Wii even if it's 4.0 LU64+, you are just choosing not to deal with it, but if you change your mind it doesn't matter the serial number or the FW...!! [​IMG]
     
  8. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Check if there are dates on the box, or ask the store manager when the wii's came in and try not to look suspicious.

    @BlackEnigma: My school has a wii on 3.1 firmware, and I want to softmod it so bad lol.
     
  9. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Bottom of Wii Box = Serial Number sticker.
     
  10. sentinel5000
    OP

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    So if the serial number is low then it probably has 3.2??
     
  11. billyrocks

    Newcomer billyrocks Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    hmm i always thought all wii came with the 3.1 and if you connect wifi it would always ask you to upgrade to 4.0 because if you send it to Nintendo to get it repair it always come back as menu 3.1
     
  12. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Umm.. if you don't go through the virgin 4.0 thing you'll still have to go through the virgin
     
  13. sentinel5000
    OP

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    And they say this lu64+ serial number in the box??
     

Share This Page