Wasabi Chip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pdaguy, Mar 2, 2008.

Mar 2, 2008

Wasabi Chip by pdaguy at 4:17 PM (3,170 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. pdaguy
    OP

    Newcomer pdaguy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone have anymore info on this chip?
    Compatible with all Wiis, including D2C/D1A.

    The site just launched 2 days ago
    Wasabi

    Product Info
    * It's the first chip that works on all drives, from DMS to latest D2C drives (including GC2-D1A).
    * It's the first D2C compatible chip that is upgradable from DVD.
    * It's the easiest chip to install on D2C: only 9 wires, only 3 of them connected to a pin/via.
    * It's the easiest chip to install on DMS and D2B as well: No need to use a dremel or super-glue with "cut-pin" drives, and there's no pin/via to solder even with the latest D2B boards.
    * It's the first D2C compatible chip that is as clean as DMS/D2B drivechips: full control over the drive's firmware, no physical patching on the lines while the games are running. That means perfect stability, more control, and no stress on the drive's components.
    * Best of all, it's the first chip to include a decent amount of flash memory (128KB) for firmware and data storage.[/quote]

    [​IMG]

    Technical Specs
     
  2. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    They're a little late to the game, but I'm sure the D1A / late D2C modders will love this :]
     
  3. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    "Did you know that current ISO dumpers are currently missing a few KB of data stored in the barcode (BCA) and lead-in area ? This "extra" data could be read by the console and used to detect chips. SMG and SSBB are the first games to call one of the related drive command"

    Is this true ?
     
  4. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    If they say it (they do), then probably, yes.

    But modchips found a way to ignore that data, like they do with the whole BCA anyway, so it shouldn't matter... But it might one day [​IMG].
     
  5. quadomatic

    Member quadomatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    What is D1A? Is that a new chip being put on Wii drives? Lame...
     
  6. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nah its been around for a couple months and works fine with current d2c chips.
     
  7. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    This looks promising! I hope it works with DL originals *cough wiikey cough*.
     
  8. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    The site is excellently designed, looks professional.
     
  9. HipN

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Co-sign.

    x infinity
     
  10. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I saw this a few days ago. This is probably going to be my first Wii chip. DVD Upgrades are the way to go for me.
     
  11. quadomatic

    Member quadomatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    I thought every chip had DVD upgradability...its just how well supported it is that's the problem. We're yet to see whether its actually well supported yet.
     
  12. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Not all. D2CKey can't be upgraded period and D2Pro and Argon require a USB cable of some sort.
     
  13. helba

    Newcomer helba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    um that's not true.. d2ckey can be upgraded via jtag like the argon, look under the chip... that's for upgrading.
     
  14. NoAlias

    Newcomer NoAlias Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep, it is, and you connect a cable to it which in turn connects to the programmer board which you hook up to your computer's USB port.
    So yes, you need a USB cable to program them and you need the proper hardware and drivers too.
    Besides that, you need to open up your WII again to hook up the chip and upgrade it.
    Big nuissance.

    DVD upgrade is much simpler. Even though it does have it's limitations in terms of flexibility.
    I like the idea that I can update my chip at any time, and I don't need to open my WII and buy additional hardware (the programmer) or take it back to the shop.

    Even though the infectus team is trashing the idea of DVD updating, there has to be a good reason why they support it now. Don't you think?


    Just my 2 cents

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page