Hacking Was in the Wii modding scene in the 3.3 days...

riahc3

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey

My friend had a 3.3e Wii that we modded with the Twilight Hack and added the HBC and used gamma's 0.3 backup loader to run our backups but now with 4.0 (or 4.1) out, I see everything has changed alot.

I plan to update to 4.0 (4.1) as games will problably require it sooner or later (I modded my Xbox 1 back in the day so I have SOME experience in console modding). What should I do? Just follow the ultimate guide or should I remove the Twilight Hack, HBC, etc etc?

techboy

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
You can use that guide if you want. That's the one i used when i first upgraded to 4.0. I was one of the guinea pigs for it...Used it just days after it was posted. (At that time, bootmii and several apps used there now like Dop-IOS and Trucha Bug Restorer did not exist, so not sure how well it works now...)

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835

oxMUDxo

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It sounds like you have a older Wii this is a good thing!!!

First thing You should do is install "BootMii" to boot2 on the Wii.
After that use BootMii to make a System back also known as a "NAND" back up.
With this NAND back up you'll be able to fix the Wii from any Brick witch makes doing this first very important, and handy..

Good luck

Dan_Aykroyd

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
oxMUDxo said:

With this NAND back up you'll be able to fix the Wii from any Brick witch makes doing this first very important, and handy..

Good luck

Second that!

riahc3

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
oxMUDxo said:

Good luck

Yeah it is a old version. I dont have that LUA64+ or however it is named Wii....

If you dont mind, could you please point me to a guide to how to install BootMii to boot2 on the Wii, make a system back (NAND backup) and how to make the Wii unbrickable?

And after doing all of this, I should install 4.1?

nabster92

Trophies
Website