WarioWare (PAL) problems with Cyclowiz

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Nipi, Feb 10, 2007.

Feb 10, 2007
  1. Nipi
    OP

    Newcomer Nipi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thursday I had my Wii chipped with a Cyclowiz chip. First discovery I faced was that it didn't recognized TDK 1-16x DVD+R.
    So after throwing away 6 useless games, I reburned Super Monkey Ball (PAL). This time I burned it also on TDK 1-16x DVD+R, but then with booktype setting in ImgBurn, so the game should be burned as DVD-ROM. After the burningprocess, I inserted the game and it worked flawless. No problems at all during the 30 minutes I played.
    Second game I decided to play was WarioWare Smooth Moves (PAL). I used the same burningprocess, and it got recognized without any problems. The installer of the chip warned me for stuttering during the intro, so I thought that was normal and a problem in the release. But when I played more levels, the problem repeated every time there was a "cutscene" (that is the short movies where the story is explained before the actual gameplay begins and after the gameplay ends). The problem is that the animation and sound starts to stutter sometimes. During the actual gameplay there are no problems at all.
    I decided to reburn the game in the same way, but still the problem remained. Yesterday I bought some Sony (yes, the company from the Playstation console [​IMG]) 1-16x DVD-R. And guess what. Still exactly the same game. Before ordering Verbatim DVD-R, to try those, I hope there are some other people who have some experience with the Cyclowiz chip and the WarioWare game. At first it looks like it's a Cyclowiz problem to me. The installer had the problem and I have the problem. And with Super Monkey Ball (burned as DVD-ROM with TDK 1-16x DVD+R) and Gottlieb Pinball Classics (burned with Sony 1-16x DVD-r), I don't have any problems.

    I burned all games at 4x speed.

    Who also has experience with the same and with different games and with different media on a Cyclowiz chipped Wii?
     


  2. mickcris

    Newcomer mickcris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
  3. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We might need a new topic with listed of compatible DVD-Rom and DVD-disc brand name...
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    just press the home button and perpess it
    then the stuttering ends

    burned it 20 minutes before
    got the same problem
    burned it with 4x on Octron DVD-R
     
  6. nloding

    Member nloding GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Odd that hitting the Home button would fix it. There are lots of DRE's floating around, could be a bad burner, could be bad media, could be the chip itself. I'm staying tuned to see what happens with all this!
     
  7. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    First of all I'd recommend using some decent media. GC also has problems like this on low quality media (stuttering videos etc.)

    Also, I'd burn the DVD at the rated speed (or just under) rather than burning it at a slower speed - some DVD drives actually burn discs better like this (quality scans show this).

    Lastly, there are some DVD-writers that are just plain crap [​IMG]
     
  8. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I agree with Dirtie on this.
    It can take some trial and error to find the right combination of burner and media for a good quality burn. The Wii may just not like some writable media too.
    The speed issue is definitely true too. Try burn your media at different speeds with the same game and see if it makes a difference.
    I have some media that burns better in one of my burners when burned faster than its rated speed.
    I don't recommend that but it does prove a point, lower speed does NOT always equal better quality.
     
  9. Nipi
    OP

    Newcomer Nipi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the information. I'm gonna try to burn it at higher speed.
     
  10. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    hi there today i burned Rayman RR

    same media and same speed on 2 different programs.

    i get a DRE right after the boot of the DVD
    anyone else got the same message?

    i will try out Verbatim DVD-R's on monday or tuesday
     
  11. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone should write up a detailed explanation how to properly burn wii/GC games.
     
  12. instigator

    Newcomer instigator Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Canada
    The media FAQ on wiinja.com clearly states that media burned at higher speeds (16x) seem to work. Sure its the same with the Cyclowiz and all other modchips.
     
  13. LaGzoR

    Newcomer LaGzoR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    I have downloaded Wario Ware PAL (pi-wwsm.r**)
    The game is a .WII and it's 4 736 698 368 bytes.
    I saw that on a post :

    So, i unscrambled it with unscrambler 0.4 and, now, the game is 4 700 012 544 octets.
    I think it will not work because most of the game we downloaded are in raw format (4 699 979 776 bytes) and work...
    If we unscrambled a game with unscrambler 0.4, it will not work ?
    I wait to burn it because I can't solder my Wiinja (problem with the triwing screws !).
     
  14. xiaNaix

    Member xiaNaix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Country:
    United States
    All the images I've seen show up as 4,589,829 KB in Windows.
     
  15. niklasnyfiken

    Member niklasnyfiken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Most images are unscrambled, so they're 4 699 979 776 bytes = 4,589,824KB = 4482.25MB
     
  16. splattered

    Newcomer splattered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I have a relatively old Pioneer DVR-105 dvd burner... i wonder if it's going to give me problems when burning Wii games? it does great with any other dvd burning... movies, xbox, etc... should i invest in a newer burner?

    Hmmm
     
  17. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The unscrambler has a bug where it repeats the last 32KB - I doubt it'll make a difference either way however. If you're that worried, open it in Winhex or something, delete the last 32KB (8000 in hex) and save it - but personally I wouldn't bother.
     
  18. splattered

    Newcomer splattered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I took a backup of excite truck as a test and ran unscrambler on the iso file... it said it didnt find any seeds and it only took a second... then i looked at the 4gb iso file and it had become a 32k iso file. :wtf: is that supposed to happen?
     
  19. LaGzoR

    Newcomer LaGzoR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    If I do that, the game will be in raw format ?
    Who have already delete the last 32KB and tested the game ?
    No other team unscrambler Wario PAL !
    Thank you for your idea but i will wait [​IMG]
     
  20. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well a 32k ISO file isn't going to be much good to you, so no, I'd say that wasn't supposed to happen.
     

Share This Page