Warcraft 2 DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by SlyGuy, Jul 13, 2007.

Jul 13, 2007

Warcraft 2 DS? by SlyGuy at 7:01 PM (2,573 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. SlyGuy
    OP

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    Thoughts?
     
  2. Bridgy84

    Member Bridgy84 Yub Nub

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    546
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    It would be nice to just get a good RTS in general though i don't see this coming to our beloved little machine. I will just keep hoping for starcraft to come to the DS though.
     
  3. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Personally, I'd prefer GunBound on the DS.
     
  4. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    After playing Settlers & then deleting it shortly after, because of how lame it was. I thought it would have been so much nicer if a scaled down Warcraft II was released instead. But that would require Blizzerd to start making games for the DS, & I don’t see that happening any time soon. On the bright side they did announce Starcraft II after 10 years of long anticipation. So maybe this means there getting off their MMORPG asses & doing something new, & maybe someday something for the DS, like a scaled down Starcraft II. Then again there’s always homebrew & Warcraft towers. [​IMG]
     
  5. silentreapr

    Member silentreapr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I don't really think the fast-paced RTS games like Starcraft would work on the DS, simply because you can't macro/micro as you would on a keyboard.

    Though they'd probably just turn it into something turn-based like AoE.. :/
     
  6. SlyGuy
    OP

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    It would work without the macros, it would just be a different type of game. It's a level playing field.
     
  7. Calogero91

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    imagine if they could port World of Warcraft, and you can play free online! Wow I would shit my pants, too bad it wont ever happen.
     
  8. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    when new update for my G6 came, i was wow now i can play simcity ds finally, and guess what, it was shit, it was no where near its old pc version.
    just like theme park ds, do u remember pc's theme park? the one bullfrog made, before mother f***ing EA bought the company, wow, do u remember dunegon keeper 2? shit.

    i dont think its easy (like making platform games) to make strategy games on ds and companies should understand that stylus is not just like mouse pointer.

    but blizzard is not one of those companies but i think they have no intrest in ds.
     
  9. cheeo

    Newcomer cheeo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Warfare Incorporated is a RTS C & C clone for the Palm & PPC & one of the best games ever to hit any PDA. RTS games work great with a stylus, so long as they don’t just do a strait port but make the game for the system. A Warcraft II or Starcraft made to take advantage of the DS would rock!
     
  10. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Amen to that.
     
  11. Cocodrilo

    Newcomer Cocodrilo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Sweden
    Blizzard should think about this... badly enought they doesn't...
     
  12. silentreapr

    Member silentreapr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Maybe they already have and decided not to :/
     
  13. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Heck yes
     
  14. seank

    Newcomer seank Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Australia
    What makes you think that? Blizzard has already expressed interest in porting Diablo II to the DS (although it was a while ago - I think they gave up on it).
     
  15. dank414

    Newcomer dank414 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    i'd buy in a heartbeat. just hope its good as the old.
     
  16. 1man1dream

    Member 1man1dream GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Highly doubt it would happen, but if it does, I'll be first in line, mark my words [​IMG]
     
  17. T!b0

    Newcomer T!b0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    PARIS
    Country:
    France
    Two years ago, Blizzard asked in a newsletter if gamers were interested in a Diablo II port on DS and PSP;
    and also if DS gamers were interested in a Starcraft port!!!

    Nothing official since then though [​IMG]

    I don't know if Blizzard has ever developped on a Nintendo platform... Apart from Starcraft on N64!!!

    So porting a 64 game to DS.. hm? hm? sounds possible!! Surfing on the hype of the Starcraft II release I bet it would sell like crazy!



    Well just a thought [​IMG]
     
  18. 1man1dream

    Member 1man1dream GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    ooh simultaneous releases of sc 2 on pc and ds=havoc at the local games shop
     
  19. heliuscc

    Newcomer heliuscc Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree that settlers could have been better but it's not a bad game for a ten yr old piece of software, it's aged well. AoE I thought was abysmal and I wasn't impressed by simcity DS either. However, games like this can work well on DS, as Anno1701 showed, which I think was great. I would enjoy command and conquer ported for old times sake.
     

Share This Page