1. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    Hello guys!

    Well for some reason Tinfoil 7.01 stopped working and we were force to update the new version in order to use it and JITS...
    But according to some websites we need to boot Fusee primary.bin in order to make it work.

    I only use Hekate to launch up my switch since i found it easier due to the AutoBoot option and AutoRCM.

    To make everything easier this is my settings:
    -----------------------------------------------
    Sigpatches
    I had these SigPatches: https://gbatemp.net/threads/kosmos-patches-es-fs.542455/

    BUT i've read that we need these instead (for some reason), so i downloaded them and replaced them; https://gbatemp.net/threads/i-heard-that-you-guys-need-some-sweet-patches-for-atmosphere.521164/
    -----------------------------------------------
    Hekate

    I forgot to mention that i also use these Kosmos_patches_12_08_2019_bootconfig.zip

    Patches in order to make it work.. If i don't use these files i always get a error when i try to boot it up that says;
    "Failed to Apple "nosighchk"!
    "Failed to launch HOS!"
    -----------------------------------------------

    Atmosphere and version
    I still have Atmosphere 0.10.1 with CFW version 9.1.0 and i would like to keep it that way, since it works great.

    -----------------------------------------

    Fusee primary or Secondary Primary
    In Hekate when i launch "CFW (EMUMMC)" everything works great. I can boot up normally... BUT i open up Tinfoil since i always get an error message that says "Could not start the software"

    But when i try to use Fusee-primay.bin i can get through the 2 splashscreens (Hekate and Atmosphere) after that everything is black. I have to press down the power button to force shutdown the console.
    It's even worse when i try to launch the payload Fusee-Secondary.bin in Hekate, i instantly get a black screen
    -----------------------------------------

    RCMLoader
    Forgot to mention that i'm using a RCMLoader.

    This one to be more specific; https://www.xkit.xyz/rcmloader/

    -----------------------------------------

    So now i'm stuck and i can't figure out how to launch Tinfoil... How do i make Tinfoil to work? :(
    It shouldn't be THIS hard to make launch the dam software...
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
  2. Lumona

    Lumona Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Vietnam
    You can try this method (other extra steps may needed) to see if it works :
    More info here : gbatemp. net/threads/tinfoil-8-0-8-0-1-help.557559/
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
  3. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    didn't help me since i'm using Hekate :/
     
  4. Ian095

    Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tinfoils sucks honestly it broke on me three times now. Use Goldleaf the only downside I found is I don't think Goldleaf supports XCI.
     
  5. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm on Atmosphere emmunand using hekate and it is working for me. follow the steps in this thread mentioned above, you have to delete your old tinfoil forwarder nsp and software first

    gbatemp. net/threads/tinfoil-8-0-8-0-1-help.557559/
     
  6. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,115
    Country:
    United States
    If you want supports XCI.. use Yati. Works great for me.
     
    issayloki likes this.
  7. Ian095

    Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it works without issues then sure. What bothers me about tinfoil is just every time I update it just breaks, probably because the files are overwritten and only specific versions worked e.g the hbg shop version WAS working for me but now get some nand bs error. Whoever made tinfoil mucked up on how they implement it to work tbh. It took my idiot *** so long to figure out that applet mode was a problem in the past but with enough memory to use it still doesn't function these days. So yeah, if it goes off without a hitch I'll try that whenever I'm faced with an XCI, thank you!
     
  8. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    Which patches did you use? I've tried all of them and I always get some kind of error :(

    Also do you have the latest Atmosphere? I'm still using the previous 0.10.1


    The thing with Goldleaf is that I can't access JITS with it, that's why I want to use Tinfoil.
     
  9. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Canada
     
  10. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    I will try the latest Atmosphere version but which patches did you use? :)
     
  11. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Canada
    the latest from this thread

    once it is loaded it will prompt you to change a KIP, this must be accepted to work as it is a new incognito feature added to the app.


    followed these instructions:
    Everyone -
    1st : DELETE ALL Tinfoil Folders, Lithium Folders, HBG Folders.
    2nd : If you have not already done so, Update to Atmosphere 0.10.2
    3rd : If you have not already done so, Update to 9.1.0 with the Released Update Files with the ChoiDujourNX App.

    4th : Grab the latest Tinfoil Package, except, grab it from the Discord Download Section....
    - https://thehbg.shop/files/hbgshop.latest.zip

    5th : Apparently Hekate will not work with it. So you MUST use the absolute latest Fusee Payload.

    6th : When you are at the Home Screen, you must use the Applet Mode (new - Just press A on Album. Holding R will just direct you to the actual Album now) to run Tinfoil. It should say the NAND can not be read, and will direct you to Install a KIP File. Afterwards, you must FULLY shutdown, then using the Fusee, Start up.

    You should now see a Tinfoil App on the Home Screen.

    NOTE - To use HBG, you must go to (Options/Theme/HBG_?????)

    There was another Tutorial similar to this, but they were saying to Delete EVERYTHING on the MicroSD except the Nintendo Folder. I did it without doing that. Just get rid of everything related to Tinfoil on your Card prior to doing everything. Hopefully I explained it clear enough. If any problems, let me know.
     
  12. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way I can make it work with Hekate?? :(

    I have a RCMloader I bought a long time ago that I love. It's so convenient since I don't have to use my PC or any jig in order to boot up to CFW. And I don't want to use my Android phone to boot up to CFW since I'm not the only one who is going to use it :(
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,115
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it works without issues. That's why I use yati for xci installed. Absolutely love it. It is like Tinfoil but with xci support, really!
     
  14. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Canada
    What is Yati?
     
  15. theasker

    OP theasker GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Country:
    United States
    https://i.imgur.com/J9bU4J6.jpg
    Now i can't even launch into my CFW anymore..
    All i get is "Wrong ini cfg or missing files!" whenever i try to launch my EmuNAND CFW :(

    Does anyone know why i get this screen? I have now updated to the latest Atmosphere version, I have 9.1.0 on CFW and I used these patches:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/i-heard-that-you-guys-need-some-sweet-patches-for-atmosphere.521164/

    And this is what I have in my Hekate settings;

    https://i.imgur.com/KudVsa0.png

    I also get the same error when i write Fusee-secondary.bin in the settings..

    How can i fix this problem? Please help
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2020
  16. Lumona

    Lumona Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Try this :
    1. Go back to RCM
    2. Insert payload : Fuse-primary.bin and let it boot using vanilla atmosphere
    3. Go to hbl menu, run the hgb (tinfoil icon) for the first time, it will prompt you to install kip or smt, let it do the job.
    4. It will tell you to reboot after it finishes -> reboot, insert payload Fuse-primary again.
    5. Open Hbg, check its functions to see if it works normally.
    6. Turn off the switch and reboot to RCM, this time use the heketa payload to boot.

    I think the problem is that you inserted the line "kip1=...." but the file isnt there so it stucked at boot.
    So the problems may be solved but booting using vanilla atmosphere, let the hbg install do the job, then after that finally boot using hekete.
     
  17. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,115
    Country:
    United States
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Tinfoil, Wanted, latest