Want to upgrade R4 to play HG/SS

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Sailor, Mar 21, 2010.

Mar 21, 2010
  1. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    There still isn't a patch out for HG/SS and frankly I'm convinced that there won't be one. The game absolutely sucks on the R4 because I have to restart it every 10 minutes or so and save very often. So I'm thinking of upgrading my 2 year old flash cart to a better one..

    Do any of you guys have recommendations as to which one to buy? I was thinking the CycloDS because I've heard good things about this. Also, where would be the best place to buy from?

    Thanks!
     


  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CycloDS if you're rich and never intend to get a DSi, otherwise get an AceKard2i and use AKAIO.
     
  3. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    AK2i, or SupercardDSOne.
     
  4. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    Hm... well, Even though my dream of owning a DSi XL (I DO need new PC parts goshdanit) I still prefer Acekard 2i (WITH AKAIO, disclaimers, lol) over cyclo, better UI, nicer skinnability, fresh tone, and faster loads keep me drawn to it... not to mention the probability (since I have not hard proof tested) of less battery consuming than my hardware 1.0 cyclo.

    I am "rich" enough to own both... sorry cyclofriends, I love(d) my cyclo but the speed and better UI of acekard 2i has swoon me away...
     
  5. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,603
    Country:
    United States
    that or m3i
     
  6. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    If I'm rich? Lol doesn't it cost like $45 or around there..that's the price of 1 DS game I'm pretty sure it's still worth it to own hundreds of DS games for the price of one. Oh and yea, I don't intend on getting a DSi there's no point in buying one to me.

    How much is the Acekard in comparison? And what's all this AKAIO talk about I don't understand it @_@
     
  7. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An AceKard2i should set you back no more than $15. AKAIO is a custom firmware for AceKards and is possibly the best firmware for any flashcart.
     
  8. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Oh so it's a matter of $15 vs. $45?

    Well price is no object to me I bought the R4 because it was cheap before and look at where I am now [​IMG] I just want the best of the best..what does the Acekard have over the Cyclo?
     
  9. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What a sensible reply, people tend to forget this. The CycloDS is a great, well supported cart, so if you really want 1 go for it.
     
  10. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Technically, nothing. AK2i doesn't have RTS AFAIK, and Cyclo has some extra features, but most people (including my self), don't think its worth it.
     
  11. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Alright so what I got out of this thread:

    CycloDS is the best supported flashcart
    Acekard 2ki is also very nice but a peg below the CycloDS
    Acekard2ki is much cheaper than the Cyclo

    So far I'm leaning towards the CycloDS because of the support team and how well it's held up. Dunno too much about the Acekard though and the AKAIO sounds like a hassle (though it's probably not?) I also heard you don't need to patch individual games for the CycloDS which is very nice [​IMG]

    I mean, it's only $45 I'm spending for a few years of entertainment. A VERY good investment IMO. Now I need to figure out where to buy from [​IMG]
     
  12. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
    Why don't you just buy the game and keep your R4?

    Anyway, I recommend the Supercard DSOne, or the Acekard2i (with AKAIO). Cyclo is good too. The EOS for Supercard is very, very good.
     
  14. Kokorazashi

    Member Kokorazashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol, installing the AKAIO firmware is as simple as dragging 2 folders onto a Micro SD Card. BTW, the AKAIO firmware is developed by the GBAtemp team (I think), and if it isn't it gets the updates on GBAtemp as soon as they come out. The Acekard2i is much cheaper and I've yet to come across any problems with it. It's well supported and very good overall. Why wouldn't you?
     
  15. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    What is the AKAIO firmware all about though, I mean like what is it used for? It's a really close tie between the CycloDS and the Acekard2ki ATM..just wondering but where do people buy the Acekard's from?

    Oh and BTW..anyone who's ordered from 0shippingzone: Do they sell the CycloDS in BLACK? All there pictures have the White cyclo on it but I have a black DSL.
     
  16. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    I would say that acekard thanks to normatt has better support than cyclo, pokemon worked on AKAIO before cycloDS. Also warioware diy is supposedly fixed on latest build.

    Last great thing for me is the GUI, the slow, clunky, and touch mis-registering UI of cyclo lost to smooth, fast and clearly differiating on touches by area of acekard was so satisfying.

    Oh, and also, everyone are saying to get 2i just because 2.1 has really bad batches out, and 2i works on phats and lites anyway.
     
  17. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    So there's no game that can't work on the Acekard? How does the patching work for it btw do you have to patch games separately?

    And there's an acekard 2.1?? Hmm that's the latest model I presume.
     
  18. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Practically every game works, at least the most popular ones, since like 0.05% of people play shovelware, but that should work perfectly too.

    You don't need to patch anything, it's exactly the same as R4, just drag and drop, bam, it's working (note that you may have to change some settings for some games that present problems like the newest Warioware, but that's only once).

    AK 2.1 is AK 2, but with a new revision. It's got some problems, so get the AK 2i, it's better.
     
  19. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    AK2.1 is not being manufactured right now and there's a decent chance you will get a defective one.

    AK2i is like $3 more and is pretty good except for some of them misaligning with the contacts a little.

    Games are frequently fixed in AKAIO by loader updates you can update quickly over wifi with your ds, or you can download them from akaio.gbatemp.net/nloaders

    if you want to use a separate patch for a game if one is available before Normmatt and Smiths can fix it, prepatched roms may work without doing anything, most games with separate fixes include instructions.

    Just buy an AK2i.

    http://www.0shippingzone.com/acekard-acekard-p-319.html
     
  20. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    So once I get the AK2i in the mail I just install AKAIO and all the games and that's it? What does the AKAIO do exactly or is it just a file that goes on the SD card.

    Also, is it worth it to pay a website an extra $1 to upgrade the firmware for the AK2i to 1.4?
     

Share This Page