Hacking Want to switch to Atmosphere from SX OS but horrible stability

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
Hi all

I've used SXOS on my Switch happily for years now with crashes on it being very rare. But with the potential downfall of Team Xecuter and possible lack of future updates I would like to try to switch to Atmosphere which will be updated regularly.

I've tried this before in the past and again recently but the stability of Atmosphere seems simply awful compared to SX OS. It crashes several times a day. Here are some of the errors I have been getting:

2002-4690
2168-0002
2345-0038
2347-0007
2345-0021
2144-0001

I have read that some homebrew or sys modules can affect it so here are the ones I am using:

appstore
checkpoint
edizon
nx-activity-log
sigpatches-updater
sm64
switch-cheats-updater
tinfoil
ftpd
reboot_to_payload
retroarch

sys-clk
sys-con
sys-ftpd
emuiibo

I'm pretty sure that last time I installed atmosphere I deleted the old version and used a clean copy of the newest build but it still crashes all over the place.

Is there anything I can do to increase stability and reduce crashes? Any homebrew or sys-modules in particular that may be causing it?

I am using a genuine SanDisk SD card formatted to fat32 on firmware 10.1.0 I am launching Armosphere using Hekate and have signature patches applied.
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,021
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,600
Country
Russia
I've been using atmos since the beginning and can't even remember what was the last time i got any crash screen. Your statement about sx os having better stability made me laugh a bit hah. You get rid of errors by finding the cause, that simple. Test with fresh atmos (without anything) and start adding your stuff that you use regularly and try replicating your crashes, idk what else to suggest. You just threw a bunch or errors and expect to get a single answer explaining how to fix all of them? Search, read, test.
 
Last edited by bad361,

baileyscream

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
199
Trophies
0
Age
95
XP
483
Country
Erm sx is using atmosphere repackaged. They stole the code.
Most crashes are down to fake or poor quality sd cards. Simple as that.
 

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
Erm sx is using atmosphere repackaged. They stole the code.
Most crashes are down to fake or poor quality sd cards. Simple as that.

Then why is it a lot more stable? It can't all be stolen or it would also crash a lot more. I've seen reports from many other SX users saying that it's more stable. I'm not alone here.

All the errors happened in one evening of testing with several of them happening multiple times.

Like I said the SD is a genuine Sandisk bought from Amazon.
 

baileyscream

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
199
Trophies
0
Age
95
XP
483
Country
Then why is it a lot more stable? It can't all be stolen or it would also crash a lot more. I've seen reports from many other SX users saying that it's more stable. I'm not alone here.

All the errors happened in one evening of testing with several of them happening multiple times.

Like I said the SD is a genuine Sandisk bought from Amazon.
Gary and the team have added more to it granted thats why its been locked to use a key and the first release was designed to brick the switch if you tried to use a cracked version but it's still atmosphere core.
Try fully formatting the sd card in a pc to remap any bad blocks and try again with md5 checked downloads.
Also try installing and setting up hekate and then atmosphere first then do one app at a time.
Don't rush it. Take your time with each and if you install any games then just try a few dont fill the sd card up just yet.
Then report back.
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,021
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,600
Country
Russia
Then why is it a lot more stable? It can't all be stolen or it would also crash a lot more. I've seen reports from many other SX users saying that it's more stable. I'm not alone here.

All the errors happened in one evening of testing with several of them happening multiple times.

Like I said the SD is a genuine Sandisk bought from Amazon.
Atmosphere is not "less stable", its just you use it the wrong way or use outdated/incompatible stuff without following updates cause unlike SX OS atmos gets usual updates and changes and because of that often old versions of homebrews become incompatible with each other. For ppl like you who don't like to research and learn on their own (esp. when its your first time using atmos and you know nothing about the development progress) there are special packs like DeepSea, you can try it (clean install of course).

Also, yeah... Saying that SX OS is "more stable" than atmosphere just because you never used and followed atmos is plain stupid. Don't act like a stubborn idiot, Atmosphere is an open source cfw that has been in ACTIVE development for a long time with many updates and features. Learn how to use stuff or just get a "baked" package as i linked above.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,398
Trophies
0
XP
1,560
Country
Australia
Are u making sure the homebrew is up to date too as they will stop working as they become out of date

I bet @slickochet is mac iphone user is where he gets close source means stability when it just means no one else can contribute to the project
 
Last edited by pcwizard7,
  • Like
Reactions: MUDD_BR

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
Atmosphere is not "less stable", its just you use it the wrong way or use outdated/incompatible stuff without following updates cause unlike SX OS atmos gets usual updates and changes and because of that often old versions of homebrews become incompatible with each other. For ppl like you who don't like to research and learn on their own (esp. when its your first time using atmos and you know nothing about the development progress) there are special packs like DeepSea, you can try it (clean install of course).

Also, yeah... Saying that SX OS is "more stable" than atmosphere just because you never used and followed atmos is plain stupid. Don't act like a stubborn idiot, Atmosphere is an open source cfw that has been in ACTIVE development for a long time with many updates and features. Learn how to use stuff or just get a "baked" package as i linked above.

Take it down a notch buddy. I came here for suggestions, not attitude.

This is not an attack on Atmosphere. I've already said I'd like to swap to it full time as it has more features and updates. But I can't yet because it's crashing too much.

If Atmosphere is more sensitive to incompatibilities and old versions and such making it crash more, then it is by definition less stable.

I have already researched this plenty, like I do with all things of this nature, but have found few concrete answers so I thought the people here might have a little more insight. Like I said it's also not my first time trying Atmosphere but every time I have tried it, it's been a crash fest so I had to swap back again.

Last time I tried it I used SDSetup to put together all the pieces I wanted and it still crashed maybe a dozen times in one evening.

And yes @pcwizard7 all homebrew is up to date. And no, I don't use any Apple hardware. I have a rooted Android that I update regularly. And I work in software development so I'm quite used to having to deal with unstable code (that isn't mine).

I'll give Deepsea a go though.

Geez....
 
  • Like
Reactions: MUDD_BR

baileyscream

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
199
Trophies
0
Age
95
XP
483
Country
@slickochet
Can you let me know if you get the same results after using that aio and if its the same let me know what your installing and which sigpatches your using so I can see if I can reproduce your errors.
 

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
What version of atmosphere and hekate are you using? What payload?

I got all the newest versions last week when I tried it. It was atmosphere v14 but I see 15 came out a few days ago. Hekate 5.3.4 and fusee primary payload.

@baileyscream I used HamletDuFromage's sigpatches updater (v0.2) to get the sigpatches.

I'll give deepsea a go today and let you know what happens.

Thanks
 
Last edited by slickochet,

Keriam

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
261
Country
France
I've just switching from SxOS to Atmosphere 0.15.0 with Sigpatchs (ShadowOne33 topic) and i have some old installed games which i can't launch : Mario Odyssey, Sonic Mania, Rayman,...

As i kept SxOS, i can start with it and no issue with SxOS...very strange.

My installation is a boot start with SxOS + dongle then payload choose "Fusee-primary.bin" to start atmo. (I also have another payload "Hekate_ctcaer_5.0.1.bin" to launch Android if needed but no need to start atmo.) i'm using exfat partition and i just have overlay with sysclk

I also have instabilities if by example i launch The Witcher 3 and stop the game during the first screen, error message and have to restart the switch. I'm a little disappointed also if i compare to SxOS as an end-user : i would like to be support and a fan for atmo but first impressions are not very good.

I will try perhaps a fresh reinstall on a new SD card if i have time...unless we found i've done something wrong : is there other sigpatchs perhaps ?

Thanks.
 

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
Okay situation update:

Did a full repair of sd card, removed partition, made new fat32 partition, full formatted it, full surface scan.

Put on the latest release of DeepSea and a couple of other homebrews I use regularly like retroarch, nx-activity -log. Also put on aio-updater to do sigpatches.

All seeming to go okay so far. Only had one crash which was when I selected "exit retroarch" option in retroarch which I don't think works too well in the switch version anyway. Best to usually just close it from home menu.

Tried a few games quickly and tried all the homebrews on there briefly and no more crashes in them yet.

So far so good....but I'm still keeping SX OS on there too as a failsafe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MUDD_BR

nero99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,101
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,442
Country
United States
Atmosphere is not "less stable", its just you use it the wrong way or use outdated/incompatible stuff without following updates cause unlike SX OS atmos gets usual updates and changes and because of that often old versions of homebrews become incompatible with each other. For ppl like you who don't like to research and learn on their own (esp. when its your first time using atmos and you know nothing about the development progress) there are special packs like DeepSea, you can try it (clean install of course).

Also, yeah... Saying that SX OS is "more stable" than atmosphere just because you never used and followed atmos is plain stupid. Don't act like a stubborn idiot, Atmosphere is an open source cfw that has been in ACTIVE development for a long time with many updates and features. Learn how to use stuff or just get a "baked" package as i linked above.
Are u making sure the homebrew is up to date too as they will stop working as they become out of date

I bet @slickochet is mac iphone user is where he gets close source means stability when it just means no one else can contribute to the project
how about you two don't be internet ass bags just because someone asked a question and said what trouble they're having?
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,021
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,600
Country
Russia
how about you two don't be internet ass bags just because someone asked a question and said what trouble they're having?
When someone says stuff like "sx os is more stable than atmosphere"... i just couldn't resist, lmao, sorry if i offended someone, that statement was just way too funny and stupid.
 
Last edited by bad361,

baileyscream

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
199
Trophies
0
Age
95
XP
483
Country
Okay situation update:

Did a full repair of sd card, removed partition, made new fat32 partition, full formatted it, full surface scan.

Put on the latest release of DeepSea and a couple of other homebrews I use regularly like retroarch, nx-activity -log. Also put on aio-updater to do sigpatches.

All seeming to go okay so far. Only had one crash which was when I selected "exit retroarch" option in retroarch which I don't think works too well in the switch version anyway. Best to usually just close it from home menu.

Tried a few games quickly and tried all the homebrews on there briefly and no more crashes in them yet.

So far so good....but I'm still keeping SX OS on there too as a failsafe.
Great your using fat32 I was hoping you would mention that.
With the sd being solid state then blocks do die and even though there supposed to be remapped to spare blocks on the fly it doesn't always happen. If these bad blocks are where sensitive info is kept then it will crash the program.
Thats why I asked you to do a full format so all bad blocks will now be remapped and you should now have a better working system.
Having the right sigpatches is also a must and from a trusted source but as you used the aio you will have everything you need and nothing missing.
Its a shame about retroarch but if you go on there git and leave a bug report then they will work with you to rectify it.

If you go into hekate there are many options to making boot up easer like auto rcm
Payload launcher
So your not messing even you do a full shutdown / restart
And for transferring your backup games to and from your pc / switch get yourself lithium for your switch and nut (comes with it) for the pc
Will make your life so much easer for file transferring or game installing
 

slickochet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
484
Country
Great your using fat32 I was hoping you would mention that.
With the sd being solid state then blocks do die and even though there supposed to be remapped to spare blocks on the fly it doesn't always happen. If these bad blocks are where sensitive info is kept then it will crash the program.
Thats why I asked you to do a full format so all bad blocks will now be remapped and you should now have a better working system.
Having the right sigpatches is also a must and from a trusted source but as you used the aio you will have everything you need and nothing missing.
Its a shame about retroarch but if you go on there git and leave a bug report then they will work with you to rectify it.

If you go into hekate there are many options to making boot up easer like auto rcm
Payload launcher
So your not messing even you do a full shutdown / restart
And for transferring your backup games to and from your pc / switch get yourself lithium for your switch and nut (comes with it) for the pc
Will make your life so much easer for file transferring or game installing

Yes I had autorcm enabled before but I must have taken it off again or official firmware got rid of it. I have re-enabled it now.

I have been using Tinfoil with nut to install games over wifi previously through SXOS. Would you recommend Lithium over this? Deepsea also comes with GoldLeaf and NSAInstaller but I don't think either of these are quite as good.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol