Hacking Want to mod my Japanese Wii

zelgadis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Is it possible using the regular ntsc chips? Is there a guide pertaining the japanese wiis? Reading japanese isnt a problem really so i dont need instructions just need to know if I can do some chips or what version of wii, etc. Thanks~

homebro2000

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I own japanese wii, it is d2c version. I purchased d2ckey from techsick and it works perfectly. Just make sure when you buy the chip, you are telling them to do the region override to japanese version. Then just install it and works fine. By the way, i got it on wii clip.

zelgadis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Thanks, How can I find what version mine is? Its pretty new like 6 months or so
frown.gif

zelgadis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Great replies
smile.gif
I also am a GC2-D2C (v1) . Any recommendations on what chip I should get for ease and best compatibility? I am not good with soldering so I definitely would like the non solder ones or with a wii clip(dont know much on the wii modding scene).

zelgadis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Sorry to bump my own thread but I know it has been knocked back so no one will see it now. I want to purchase the chip soon so if anyone can answer my question I would be even more grateful! Everyone has been a great help so far
wub.gif

trent_fox

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
zelgadis said:
Sorry to bump my own thread but I know it has been knocked back so no one will see it now. I want to purchase the chip soon so if anyone can answer my question I would be even more grateful! Everyone has been a great help so far
wub.gif
You shouldn't need to mess with any firmware.

zelgadis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
So all japanese games should work since it is on a japanese wii? But some american games may not? Sorta a reverse to the american wiis compatibility?

H20Wally

Trophies
XP
Country
United States