Want to enjoy my R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by HigherThanNorth, Mar 10, 2011.

Mar 10, 2011

Want to enjoy my R4 by HigherThanNorth at 3:43 AM (1,542 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. HigherThanNorth
    OP

    Newcomer HigherThanNorth Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hello
    Hope you can help me with my R4. To tell you honestly I dont know anything how this R4 thing goes, have done research on this on how to have firmwares and etc. still dont know whats wrong with the procedure i am doing as i have followed each and every instructions that i have found over google, and i am getting frustrated as the day goes by. Even worse is I dont even know if my R4 is authentic or a hoax.fake because it was sold to me a year ago on a mall here in our country for $22. and the R4 that i found on the net looks the same with my R4. Planning to go for Acekards but dont want to invest on something if i havent tried anything yet unto the last bit. Have read all the threads from FAQS to new users guide settings but i really dont know what is the best firmware to run in this.. really frustrating especially coming from a nood like me.

    My DS is Nintendo DS lite.

    here is my R4

    The label sticker on the slot card says:

    -R4 SDHC
    -Revolution for DS (NDSL/NDS)


    Now if I ON my DS here are the things i see:

    top screen : R4.II SDHC(Upgraded Edition - R4 II English Version)

    touch screen: R4.II Revolution for DS v1.21


    now what is the best firmware to run on that one?
    I really want to know so i can able to maximize the use of this cool machine.

    Anyone out there knows the solution for this?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Is there any URL mentioned on the box?
     
  3. HigherThanNorth
    OP

    Newcomer HigherThanNorth Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    uhm with the box, i think i have to check on that but the url that i can see on the screens are:

    http://www.r4nds.cn

    tried accessing that my browser cannot open the page.

    used chrome, firefox and I.E 8..
     
  4. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  6. HigherThanNorth
    OP

    Newcomer HigherThanNorth Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  7. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Get an Acekard. As the others said, the R4 team never made anything other than the original R4 and they stopped production more than a year ago. Also, for $22 you got totally 'ripped-off'. The original R4 is available for around $8 and what you got is a fake good for nothing clone. You can either try what Romee said or you can try Wood R4.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 stopped product well over a year ago, and can be found at some retailers for as little as $4 since it's such old/simple hardware compared to modern carts.
     
  9. HigherThanNorth
    OP

    Newcomer HigherThanNorth Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    whoa, $8 and $4 a real rip off on my part.. well I didnt know back then...

    will update you guys again if your suggestions worked.. then i'll consult gain.. ok?

    thanks!!!
     
  10. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Ok! No problem! Feel free to consult me if you have any more problems!
     
  11. HigherThanNorth
    OP

    Newcomer HigherThanNorth Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    I think i may need to buy the acekard now.. what acekard to buy then? acekard2i or the acekard2..
     
  12. gloweyjoey

    Member gloweyjoey who??

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    United States
    Get an Acekard2i.
     
  13. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    DSi/DSi XL - Acekard 2i
    DS fat/DS Lite - Acekard 2
     
  14. gloweyjoey

    Member gloweyjoey who??

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    United States
    Get an Acekard2i regardless.
     
  15. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    And your reason is...?
     
  16. gloweyjoey

    Member gloweyjoey who??

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    United States
    Only reason really is that if youre using a fat/lite and you happen to come up on a DSi/XL you wont need to worry about your card seeing as it works on all of them.
     
  17. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    True but ak2 is cheaper and the 3DS is just going to come out.
     
  18. gloweyjoey

    Member gloweyjoey who??

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    United States
    Another reason too. As Acekard 2i will work on the 3ds as well. Acekard 2/2.1 wont.
     

Share This Page