Waninoko's IOS and Homebrew?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by drfsupercenter, Jul 20, 2008.

Jul 20, 2008
  1. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    OK,

    I was just curious... if Waninoko's new custom IOS lets you use DVD-ROM discs for emulators and such... does that mean it can read Trucha signed discs through the Homebrew Channel? Because I've been trying to back up my save from My Pokémon Ranch for a while, and if I make a disc with that header, I could use his save dumper and installer, right? Would that work? Or would I still need a modchip for it?
     


  2. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    i believe the two things it did was fix the trucha bug fix, aswell as enable unencrypted reading(dvdr in emu's).
    idk tho
     
  3. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    As the system menu doesn't use the custom IOS, it won't let you booting your Trucha discs from the Disc channel AFAIK.
     
  4. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Well... if you overwrite.... but I wouldn't risk that....
     
  5. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS features
     
  6. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    I dunno if it's really risky. Sure, if the IOS isn't proprely installed, it will crash the Wii, but AFAIK the cIOS works perfectly, so ... *wants to try*
     
  7. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Not to mention bricks if they ever find out...


    I would wait until Marcan's restore tool comes out.
     
  8. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    So try overwriting it.
    If it is properly installed, nothing should go wrong, right?
    Since all it does it really change two things...

    EDIT: Sorry for asking, but Marcan's restore tool?
     
  9. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    It modifies enough to be detectable/stoppable.

    You'd have to continuously patch every IOS you install to make sure nothing goes wrong. That's why the cIOS uses a number that's out of the spectrum.


    Marcan and others are working on a tool that will allow you to restore your NAND... or at least prevent bricks.
     
  10. shadyboy

    Member shadyboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Norway, Sandesjoen
    Country:
    Norway
    so, if we use the custom IOS trucha signed games still work?
     
  11. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    If you load that IOS, yes.
     
  12. shadyboy

    Member shadyboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Norway, Sandesjoen
    Country:
    Norway
    huh? O.o what do you mean by loading it?
    ii tought that If I instaled the custom IOS it would work ? or aint it possible to install it?
     
  13. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    IOS is modular.

    The Wii saves every iteration of IOS in the NAND and the software calls the version it was designed for.
     
  14. lvholanda

    Member lvholanda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    United States
    So if i have a Wii in 3.3U, and i load the IOS custom, Trucha Sign games are going to work?
     
  15. shadyboy

    Member shadyboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Norway, Sandesjoen
    Country:
    Norway
    *bumb* on behalf of Ivholanda
     
  16. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    The game needs to call that IOS.
     
  17. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Waninkoko's IOS Patcher?
    I dunno if it'll work. I never tried the IOS Patcher.
     
  18. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Not a problem, using IOS patcher by waninkoko but It won't allow you to load truched discs
     
  19. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    I thought i read that the CIOS is not designedt to be used with commercial games (somewhere in the readme maybe)
     
  20. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    I know that SquidMan's WiiMU has a test build out which can dump a save based on the TitleID.
     

Share This Page