walktrough and maybe cheat enable/disable ingame for Wood R4?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by seahorsepip, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I thought About a way to get an ingame guide(walktrough) possible without extra ram so it doesn't run 2 things at the same time...
    Maybe it's possible by adding an function to pause/save state by pressing a button combination and then let it load an other rom with text reader function that reads the guide and with a back button that loads the previous rom's savestate/resume rom.
    Will this ever be possible without any extra ram?
     


  2. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I wonder if that's even possible. I'm still new to all this, but still, it feels to complicated to work out.
     
  3. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe but only reason that it's not possible is because the short of ram when running 2 things at same time but when the run after each other....
     
  4. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I think there's no point than. Getting more RAM for a walk-through isn't worth it in my opinion. There's so many other ways you could remedy to that.
    Cheat enabling and disabling while in game might be possible though, since DSTWO does that. I'm not sure though, never got around to pay for that flashcard yet.

    By the way, this is off-topic but congrats for the world cup, Netherlands xD
     
  5. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @bason
    thats what I meant, The dstwo has extra power build in for that ingame menu and run 2 things at same time....
    And wood can't because r4 doesn't have that extra power build in but when it runs the apps/roms after each other instead of together at same time it doesn't need any extra ram.....
    But how to make the game start at same place before the ingame menu then..maybe load rom with current hex code when loaded before [​IMG]
     
  6. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Oh, I see, sorry I misunderstood.
    Or, integrate Real Time Save and switch around. That could work.
     
  7. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    something like that but rts is not verry simpel to intergrate I guess....
     
  8. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I personally think it might even be harder to code what you've imagined. And no offense, seriously.
     
  9. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup but coding is only possible thing the other thing(running both at same time) is not code able for flashcards without extra ram (it is but then it will crash when it get to less ram and thats not the thing we want =P)
     
  10. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Or, the 3rd option is to make a WooDSTWO R4 8D
    Okay, more seriously, since you seem to know much much more than I do, do you think your idea can be codeable? Because, franlky, for the cheats, that would be great =D
     
  11. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think it's possible the only need is lightweight app that reads txt or other text file and RTS function in Wood R4.
    But I can't try to code it...I'm a designer not a coder [​IMG]
     
  12. Supersonicmonk

    Member Supersonicmonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Cymru
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was under the impression that RTS/save states are hardware dependant which is why the M3i zero can use them and the R4 can't, I don't use cheats very often but I thought that the R4 does have a method of disabling/enabling them in game
     
  13. bason230

    Member bason230 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In my atelier 8D
    Country:
    Vietnam
    A great designer, by the way. Thanks for the PM answer =D
    Maybe we could use DSLibris? Heard it was a good txt reader.
     
  14. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    nope thats why I thought of ingame menu and then reload rom to the savestate from before the ingame menu...but this wirhout ram is the problem....
     
  15. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yea but its using much system resource and thats not handy when rom is loaded at same time so I think build in reader that use so less ram as possible is better to prevent chrashing.
     
  16. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yea some of them but then with combination's like at GTA CHINATOWNWARS police off and police on but the are different cheats, and I was more referring to ingame guide
     
  17. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's simple, if you want these features go get a DSTWO.

    WoodR4 will never have RTS, Y.W.G has already said he has no intentions of doing it.
     
  18. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok then maybe cheat that will make black screen with text on key combination?
     
  19. SamusKnight2K

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Not to sound like an ass here, but I doubt anyone would even bother looking into this. I'd imagine the only reason Wood R4 was made is so those with the older R4 flashcarts could use them again. Any extra bells/whistles would require you to buy an updated flashcart. Now depending on if you have a DS/DS Lite you could go with SCDSONE and get a reader feature. I think Cyclo and some of the cheaper carts offer viewing text while gaming. I never actually tested but I think the Acekard 2i can do that too and you can get one off shoptemp fairly cheap for about the price of a used game.
     
  20. seahorsepip
    OP

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea but that software of the card will never be opensource like wood r4 and tghats why I like my R4 because all unnofficial software is opensource =P
     

Share This Page