Wad2Nand OS X v1.4 (Final?)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by XarcusEater, May 7, 2010.

May 7, 2010
  1. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    Wad2Nand mac os x v1.4 is here. Many, many bug fixes, it should work for everyone now. Other changes: creates wad2nand-install.log on desktop, now you will be able to tell where it failed. Max wads still 60, I think that's enough for everyone.
    Feedback is appreciated.
     
  2. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    still not working for me. all my wads have .wad extention. when it asks me for my wad they are all greyed out. i have common-key.bin in the home folder and still no go.

    10.5.8
    powermac g5 dual core.
     
  3. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    this should work. still must be in /Applications. will allow any filetype selection.
     
  4. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    i get an error on selecting wad

    ""cant make "macintosh HD:applications:wad2nand.app:contents:resources:" into type
     
  5. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    even when it's in the Applications folder?
    Is your startup disk called "Macintosh HD"?
     
  6. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    yes its in applications and no my startup volume is not called that. i am creative and i name all of my drives something different. i guess i need it to be named Macintosh HD while im using this?

    edit: still doesnt work. the 1.4 all my wads are greyed out, and the version you posted gives me the error,

    "cant make "macintosh HD:applications:wad2nand.app:contents:resources:ticket" into an item.
     
  7. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    yes, ill try to make it work with any name tomorrow, I chose that name because its the default for a newly bought mac.
     
  8. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    check my edit.
     
  9. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    there should be a file caled "wad2nand-install.log" on the desktop. copy and paste it's contents here.
    also, go to the wad2nand app in finder, right-click, show package contents, then go to /contents/resources, and tell me what files and folders are there after it quits. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  10. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    Using hardcoded paths is just plain stupid and bad programming. (Since it won't work on anything but your exact configuration.)

    Use the proper class methods for this instead.
    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂ// bundlePath points to @"[...]/Bundle.app"
    NSString *bundlePath = [[NSBundle mainBundle] bundlePath];
    ÂÂÂÂ// ticketPath points to @"[...]/Bundle.app/Contents/Resources/ticket"
    NSString *ticketPath = [[[bundlePath stringByAppendingPathComponent:@"Contents"]
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ stringByAppendingPathComponent:@"Resources"]
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂstringByAppendingPathComponent:@"ticket"];
     
  11. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    You could of course add all in one go, and/or use the general
    Code:
    - (NSString *)stringByAppendingString:(NSString *)aString
    method to append the end of the path. This is however also bad practice since the
    Code:
    - (NSString *)stringByAppendingPathComponent:(NSString *)aString
    method makes sure that there are no surplus slash-characters, and adds any if needed.
     
  12. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    Also --- I'm on a flow here [​IMG] --- you shouldn't really do work in your bundle directory, but in the system default temporary directory. Simplest way to get that is by:
    Code:
    NSString * tempDir = NSTemporaryDirectory();
    if (tempDir == nil)
    ÂÂÂÂtempDir = @"/tmp";
    [*]Then create a subdir to work in.[*]Do your shitz in that dir.[*]Move the end product somewhere useful.[*]Clean up by removing your entire dir.
     
  13. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    @joda: this doesn't apply, I'm using applescript to choose file(s), then using applescript to put the in my directory, then using shell to install them.
    so the user gets to choose whatever files first, then the directory is hardcoded. I wanted to create some sort of GUI, but I didn't know cocoa.
    look at the shell and the scpt in the /src folder of the .dmg
     
  14. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    still not working for me, i tested it on 4 different macs.
     
  15. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    can you do what I asked you to in post #9?
    also, select one of your wads, and hit command-i (get info). then look at the full filename. it might have a second extension. ex: example.wad.txt
    remove the extension if there is one. then try release 1.4
     
  16. XarcusEater
    OP

    Newcomer XarcusEater Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    outdated, look at the new thread
     

Share This Page