Vita will not support PS1 out-of-box

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Xuphor, Nov 28, 2011.

Nov 28, 2011
  1. Xuphor
    OP

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.vitagamr.com/news/2011/11/vita_wont_play_psone_games_right_away

    It's not really a feature I was die-hard wanting, but its nice to see that rumor finally answered.
     


  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    who wants to play PS1 games on the vita anyway

    You've got a fucking Vita
     
    5 people like this.
  3. Xuphor
    OP

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    My thoughts exactly on this (Heck yea MNR Vita).... but I know that some people were really looking forward to it.
     
  4. junkerde

    Banned junkerde Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    Country:
    United States
    Vita will not support PS4 games out of the box. Fans are dissapoint.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure this will have a negative impact upon it's initial reception....given that at launch not all PSP games are supported, and no PSX at all, it's a major disappointment for those people with PSN accounts full of PSOne Classics hoping to replace their portable PSX machine with the Vita.

    It's about the fact that you're obliged to have both PSP and Vita if you want a portable system compatible with the PSN content you already have, which runs contrary to Sony's initial promises about BC.
     
  6. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    P
    This. My thoughts exactly.
     
  7. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Who doesn't want options for $300+ for a handheld?

    Especially options that the previous one had.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States

    i take that if it was the other way around your be like omg vita is so great it can play ps1 games

    let me tell you that there great ps1 game di you ever have a ps1 ?
     
  9. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PSP didn't have PS1 when it launched, it's low-priority really.
     
  10. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Has PS1 now, doesn't it? I see absolutely no reason why that shouldn't carry over.
     
  11. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States

    psp have it why not psvita ? i would expect a $300 machine to be able to have stuff that already made for his previus unit
     
  12. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,602
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the vita software/hardware isn't optimizes for it yet.
     
  13. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One reason could be that it isn't finished? ...

    Could the 3DS play DSi ware at launch?
     
    3 people like this.
  14. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States
    well yes just take the DSI game insert it and play it
     
  15. Xuphor
    OP

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    He meant DSiWare. And the answer is no.
     
  16. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Given that it's supported on both the PS3 and the PSP, I can't see why it would take so long for them to implement it on the Vita.

    Did people complain?

    DSiWare didn't come on a cart...
     
  17. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    But DSi-enhanced games did.
     
  18. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We don't know if it's taking long or it's just at the bottom of the list of things to do.
    Are people complaining now?
    Well yes, you.
     
  19. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States
    yea di you guys forget the DSI only games ? also you cant compare dsiware games to pS1 games
     
  20. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not?
    If we change this quote around
    You can.
     

Share This Page