VisualBoy Advance 1.7 beta 3

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Nov 4, 2003.

Nov 4, 2003

VisualBoy Advance 1.7 beta 3 by Costello at 5:32 PM (2,479 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    [​IMG]

    VBA 1.7 beta 3

    Forgotten has just released beta 3 of his GBA emulator Visualboy Advance 1.7. Nothing really new, but as the author writes: This fixes several of the problems reported with beta 2 and some new function.

    Download it on the official website.
     
  2. Dark Dude 98

    Member Dark Dude 98 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it, havn't used it yet tho, im waiting to be unblock on the gbatemp channel to download the new roms when they are realsed. What is the point of betas when he could just realease new versions?
     
  3. Jojjy Ugnick

    Member Jojjy Ugnick shake your bonbon

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Country:
    Canada
    What a maroon.
     
  4. cruddybuddy

    Banned cruddybuddy Group: Banned!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,864
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Oh no dark! You're gonna lost that post now. Anyway, I was hoping for Fire Emblem, but a new version of VisualBoy is good.
     
  5. Sonic_1

    Member Sonic_1 HNKS

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its all bout the betas
     
  6. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, let's keep the "yay" posts to minimum, m'kay?

    Is there any real advantage to updating the emulator? I haven't updated mine since 1.5.
     
  7. CLu`

    Member CLu` Tha Off Da Hook Pimp

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    The 1.7beta line has been pretty stable so far. I just updated from 1.5 when 1.7 beta was released.
     
  8. Ace Gunman

    Former Staff Ace Gunman ~••Lucky҉Shot••~

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,385
    Location:
    Wassamatta U
    Country:
    Canada
    I jsut wish when they rlease a new Beta that they'd tell us what exactly they fixed >.>
     
  9. Saria

    Member Saria The Sage Of The Forest Temple

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its mere technical stuff which for the non-programmers among us would just be complete jargon

    Although I can tell you that the Video Resize from a window to full screen has been fixed - I submitted a bug-report for that

    Other than that I havent a clue what is changed.....

    I think one has to wait for the final version to get all the info
     
  10. Ace Gunman

    Former Staff Ace Gunman ~••Lucky҉Shot••~

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,385
    Location:
    Wassamatta U
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah if they ever release a final version >.>
     
  11. bennyboy371

    Newcomer bennyboy371 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Country:
    United States
    As long as there is a new version I'm happy, whether or not its a final version [​IMG]
     
  12. jeffkong

    Member jeffkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I searched through the new emulator version and this is what I found [​IMG]

    - The file size is now 1.40MB, this is the smallest file size of any recent VBA.
    - The sound volume can now go to .25X and .5X
    - When opening something, or searching for something in VBA, it has shortcuts to the left of those windows (ex: My Recent Documents, Desktop, My Documents, My Computer, My Network)
    - Bug Report may have new features (unconfirmed)

    There are also many more changes that I don't know about...
     
  13. Grizzly

    Member Grizzly GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    Germany
    Argg... I really really don't like the "save game on oldest slot" function. It destroys all my Savegames made for memories in later times because it overwrites them when I press Alt, Down, Down, Down, Down, Down, Down, Return, Return [​IMG]

    forgotten: Can you delete that option or make it hideable somehow, please?
     
  14. forgotten

    Member forgotten Visualboy Advance Author

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Don't use the option. Simple as that.
     
  15. BryceOne

    BryceOne Newbie



    So why do you just use Alt, Down, Down, Down, Down, Down, Down, Return, Down, Return.. Anyways, seems easier to use the mouse.. Click, click, click.. Simple as that.
     
  16. jeffkong

    Member jeffkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    Wow! I never even knew about the new save state options! [​IMG]

    And Forgotten, have you checked http://sourceforge.net/projects/vba/ recently? There are some really good requests being made.

    And actually... [​IMG] ... I have a request right now.

    After changing the Visual Boy Advance window to maximized, can you make it so the VBA starts out maximized the next time it's open, and when loading other games.

    Because when I maximize VBA and close VBA, it's not maximized anymore when I reopen VBA.
    And when I load a game while the VBA window is maximized, the window becomes small again once the game is loaded and I have to maximize VBA again.

    It's just a little thing but it would be very helpful.
     
  17. forgotten

    Member forgotten Visualboy Advance Author

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Sorry, I won't add many new features for the 1.7 release for now. I am trying to flush out all of the problems from the MFC migratation.

    As final thing about the save to oldest slot, you can assign keyboard accelerators to 99% of the menu items, so there is no need to do ALT, DOWN, .... Just use the Tools->Customize menu.
     
  18. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    What I would like to see is a full-screen mode where it runs in the right ratio instead of stretching it to fit. Like letterbox it...

    Nice job on the continuouis updates to the emulator!
     
  19. forgotten

    Member forgotten Visualboy Advance Author

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Fullscreen modes will keep the screen ratio in DirectDraw mode unless you have the Fullscreen stretch to fit.

    In other modes, I don't have time to figure out how to do the same. Anyone is welcome to do that if they want.
     

Share This Page