Visual Boy Advance Version 1.7.2 Ported to Wii

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by webyugioh, Apr 18, 2008.

Apr 18, 2008
  1. webyugioh
    OP

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    Hey, the awesome Game Boy Emu has been ported to the Wii.
    Visual Boy Advance!

    Source
    Source: Wiinewz

    Download

    I would try this out but I have yet to get the twilight hack to work for me.
    I think it is because I have vista.

    Either way, This is so cool!
    I would love to play Fusion on this.
     
  2. ZPE

    Member ZPE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow! Sounds exciting!

    /me wants modded Wii.
     
  3. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    All you need is a copy of Zelda and an SD card to run most homebrew. As noted above, this one does require more at the moment but my point is that you do not need to mod anything.
     
  4. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ooh, finally, GBA on Wii. Just wish I had invested in an SD Gecko.
     
  5. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Nice!!
    Just sad that you acturally would need 2 SD cards... one for the Wii's sd card slot and one for my SD Gecko.
     
  6. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The OS is irrelevant? Hell, all you need is an SD card slot, and a text based web browser. THAT'S IT. You can probably even setup the Twilight Hack on a PS3 if you wanted. I have vista, it works fine.

    Once it gets Wiimote support and Native SD Card support, I'll be using it.
     
  7. webyugioh
    OP

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    I don't know.
    I format the SD card I have, put the elf in the root, name it boot.elf
    and it never works.

    I'll get to work one day though, as soon as I have time to mess with it.
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,412
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Great, the boot.elf seems to stay in memory.

    the readme specify "Once loaded, put the SDCARD into your SDGecko (SlotA) and press A."
    So, only one SDCard is needed by swapping (or two card if you are lazy).

    I'll try it in few hours and will leave comments here.


    Edit :
    I tried it. (note that I never tried the VBA emu for GC)
    With 1 SD card, I swapped and it shown a list of 4 games I put on the card.
    I launched Kingdom heart (256MB), and the speed is very good, the sound too.

    I hit L+R to return to the menu, and in order to load a new game I had to reload the boot.elf, but I forgot to swapp it back to the front so the code hang the Wii. (note : it loads the boot.elf on the root of the SDcard, not the boot.elf in another folder if you use Hombrew launcher)

    Reload it again, tried to run FF6 (64MB), but the Wii stayed on the "loading, please wait" screen.

    I'm now trying with 2 SD card.
    with the 2nd card, the games are not detected. I changed the SD order (boot from front with 2nd SD, and games on 1st SD) it's now working. maybe a bad SD not working with SDGecko.

    2nd try, FF6 works. sound is a little glichy, and some slowness in the game speed.

    Saves are working (don't forget to choose "save" in the menu)


    Sword of mana (128MB) works fine.

    I'm in 16:9, and the picture is fine, with a black border all around.


    3rd try :

    Saves are raw format, it can load saves from VBA on PC or even Slot2 NDS card's saves.

    A little bug found :
    The emulator got the color palete all scrambled. even if I used the "reload boot.elf" and try another game.
    I had to switch off the Wii and load it again from the start.
     

Share This Page