virus help

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by xcalibur, Oct 1, 2007.

Oct 1, 2007

virus help by xcalibur at 2:27 PM (1,684 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am currently facing a virus which named 'scvvhsot' and i wan to know is it a type of trojan?
    it came from my usb storage
    it is really annoying coz my avg,spybot,ad aware pesonal cant detect it
    is there anyway to update those programs wiothout being online? i still dont have an internet connection at home...
    it mimicked my folder name which sized 283kbs inside the folder it had mimicked..
    it also somnehow broke taskmanager and vista wont run anymore
    luckily i have tweak powerpack which has a watered down version of task manager and it allows me to stop scvvhsot process so i can at least access my flashdrives without it getting infected

    i was ok with it but now i almost broke my eziv(had to update fw again to make it work) i need to get rid of it

    any sugestions?
     


  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  3. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...
    IM not stupid
    i just dont have an internet connection at home, that why i was asking for advixe
    i saw aq really long thread which dealt with this virus but i cant do that from where i am atm
    it also requires me to d/l a couple of files that are either too large or i cant get to

    please read my post a bit better
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    What are you using to post?
     
  5. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :sigh:

    you ever heard of an internet caff?
    this place has only got 512kbps d/l speeds so anything too large i cant get
    which is why i cant follow the thread i mentioned since you need a really big file(well not big, just bigger than im willing to d/l over this shitty connection)
     
  6. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    No need to be rude dear.
     
  7. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all i want is just some help with this issue i got, an youre not helping
    so excuse me if im getting a bit annoyed..
    oh that and your lack of common sense got to me

    no offense intended
     
  8. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    please clean that sand out of your vagina xcalibur
     
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, there aren't many internet cafes in my area.

    Second of all, its just as likely that you were posting on a mobile phone or at a friend's house.

    So don't give me that 'lack of common sense' schpeel because it appears you are the one lacking it.
     
  10. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alright, fine... i apologise
    forget i said anything
    all i want is a simple way to fix my issue
    if there isnt ill just have to get the internet after ramadan
    i have some issue with my phoneline being "per gain(?)" and i need a copper line or else i cant have dsl.
    the office i go to is always closed when i get there because of ramadan so untill the 18th i wont be able to get internet...

    btw cubing..
    im a dude lol
     
  11. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Worse comes to worse you may have to format your drive. Or you could find a Linux distro dedicated to anti virus for Windows( you make the live cd and it finds viruses on on Windows and kills them). I do not know any of the top of my head, but Urza sounds knowledgeable in the computer department as well so he might know [​IMG]
     
  12. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where did you copy and paste this from exactly? [​IMG]
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Try scanning with some other antivirus programs.

    Also, I'd assume that your AVG isn't updated since you don't have internet?
     
  14. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    i only copied a line or two [​IMG]
    i know i had this issue and i meant to fix it but i just couldnt be asked to ask for help till now
    i checked on google and found a question on yahoo answers which described my problem
    i just copied 2 lines and expanded

    im just so lazy [​IMG]
     
  15. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  16. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
  17. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's beyond lazy you could have corrected the spelling and grammar [​IMG]
     
  18. jimmy j

    Member jimmy j Awesome for hire.

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    the congo
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you try the follow-up instructions from yahoo answers? Did you try the onlinescan or is that not an option for you at the moment?
     
  19. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    He has no internet at home jimmyj.
     
  20. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well try to run in safemode and delete the little thing.
    And if that dont works download a Ubuntu LiveCD to clean your harddrive.
    If you cant download anything large then just goto the Ubuntu site and request a livecd.
    They come in 1-3weeks and are completely free!
    Allready got 3 Ubuntu and 3 Kubuntu discs [​IMG]
     

Share This Page