VGA box worth purchasing?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Sep 23, 2007.

Sep 23, 2007

VGA box worth purchasing? by Harsky at 10:37 PM (1,012 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found the CRT monitor that used to belong to my very first PC purchased in 2001 and I figured it would be good as a spare monitor for gaming but that would mean purchasing a VGA box. Is it worth purchasing or should I just save up for an HDTV?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    360 leads aside I have only really used a standard box. They are not brilliant most of the time but definitely worth the £30.
    They also enable a good TV license dodge when the time comes.
     
  3. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol I never thought of using my monitor to dodge the TV license.. is that REALLY possible? The vans detect your TV and not the signal? If so I'm buying a bigger monitor lol.
    I bought VGA cables for my 360 and it looks way better than on my SDTV, hoping to go HD for Xmas!

    @Harsky I'd save for the HDTV personally..
     
  4. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to buy a VGA box for your 360. Just get a set of VGA cables and you're good to go! I use my Widescreen 22" LCD to play my 360 on and it looks insanely ace! Picked up the cable for a measly £4 on eBay inc delivery! Great quality and it works fine! [​IMG] Needed to get a RCA to 3.5 jack adaptor too though...
     
  5. crafton48

    Member crafton48 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whatca reckon?
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It may not be the case in a few years time ( http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/03/pc_tax/ ) but yeah
    http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/information/index.jsp
    "You need a TV Licence to use any television receiving equipment such as a TV set, set-top boxes, video or DVD recorders, computers or mobile phones to watch or record TV programmes as they are being shown on TV.". (I assume as it is being shown = live which could possibly drop you in it for stuff like live football and I would say drop the TV capture card if you have one).

    I find it hard to see how usenet and DVD rentals count towards that let alone a VGA box.
    You will still have to deal with the 400,000 threatening letters they send as it practically unthinkable to not have a TV apparently (I got multiple letters a month when I did not have a TV 2 years ago, of course I did not give any details which probably did not help).

    I think it is probably safe to call bull shirt on the black vans/helicopter theory (I find it quite hard to reason with physics how such a thing would work (TVs receive/decode only so there should be no transmission).
    As I understand it most people are caught because they have one on display through a window which then leads to warrant/court order or they are foolish enough to allow inspectors in.
    This site may prove of some use as well:
    http://www.marmalade.net/lime/

    *turns on Faraday cage.

    Also I seem to recall Scorpei reviewed one of these boxes a few months back.
     
  7. Bowser128

    Member Bowser128 King Koopa

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your standard Composite VGA box provides a barely tolerable picture quality, but for £30 it's an adequate stop-gap solution. It is by no means a replacement for a HDTV, or even an SDTV for that matter. If at all possible you should go for a VGA cable designed for whatever console you are using (360, Dreamcast) or for more general use a decent Component VGA box will do the job perfectly well.
     
  8. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'm planning on just using it for the 360 which in hindsight, I should just get the VGA cable for it in the first place.
     
  9. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't get VGA box reason it just pure~rubbish!

    save up for an HDTV is the best thing to do...
     
  10. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    I thought about getting this for like screenshots and shit.
     

Share This Page