Very Odd Error with all discs and backup loaders

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Wilson735, Dec 14, 2009.

Dec 14, 2009
  1. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I'm running a 4.2U Wii. Seemingly out of nowhere, anytime I want to run a game from the hard drive, I get an error as follows:
    "An error has occurred. Press the Eject Button and remove the disc, then turn the Wii console off and refer to the Wii Operations Manual for help troubleshooting."
    This same error occurs when any disc is inserted (original gamecube, original Wii), and it happens when using WiiFlow, as well as USB Loader GX. If the error doesn't come up when using the backup loaders, it'll just stay on a black screen.

    I've tried formatting the Wii System Menu, I tried followinng the "Modify any Wii" guide from the beginning, but nothing's working. Can anyone help?
     
  2. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to update to 4.2 through Nintendo, I didn't lose any of the homebrew. I then followed the "Modify any Wii" guide from "Modify 4.2" to "Downgrade to 4.1". I still have the same issue.

    Could it be the DVD drive that I'm using??

    Is the DVD drive needed to run backup loaders?
     
  3. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,288
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Did you ever have CIOSCORP installed at any point? Your IOSes might be screwy, if it's happening for everything.
     
  4. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    You should follow his Upgrade to 4.2 section, because what it does is uses WAD Manager to overwrite all your IOS files with the latest clean versions from Nintendo. Doing the upgrade through Nintendo only fixed a few of them, not all of them and certainly not the ones that are causing your problem. Keep in mind, you can safely skip IOS40 through IOS46 and IOS52 as they are for Korean Wii systems only. He really needs to take those out of the package as he does not support modifying Korean Wii systems.

    You'll notice his guide says:
    This will work on any Wii.

    And then below that, in tiny text, a link which reads:
    Korean Wiis are modded differently.

    The link takes you to a different guide for Korean Wii systems.

    Anyway, I got off track. Follow his Upgrade to 4.2 section.
     
  5. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    you did not lose JODI HBC because 4.2 ninty update looks for HAXX HBC but you definitely lose your backup cios. if you follow the 4.2 guide of xzxero i cannot see the reason why you have problems on backup loading.

    if in case you want to revirginize your wii for a clean start, including cioscorp removal just in case your wii have it, then re-hack again you could use this guide: http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/other-stuff/virgin. after that start again the modify 4.2 of xzxero's guide.
     
  6. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I guess it must have been CiosCorp that screwed it up. And it's funny, because I ran the ciosCorp uninstaller and still nothing.

    Also, i did a system format via the Wii settings and I still got nothing. Isn't that supposed to fix it?

    Anyway, I guess I'll revirginize my Wii following the guide, and I'll follow xzxero's upgrade to 4.2 guide and I'll post up the results. Thanks.
     
  7. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    NEVER System format. That's the dumbest thing you can do, it doesn't reset your wii
     
  8. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, but why is it in the Virginize your Wii Guide?
     
  9. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Also, what does a system format via settings actually do?
     
  10. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for your responses.

    I actually restored the NAND using BootMii after the format, so I'm back where I started. I'm away from my Wii, bust as soon as I can, I'll revirginize my Wii following the guide, and I'll follow xzxero's upgrade to 4.2 guide. I'll let you guys know how it goes.
     
  11. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    This is just the 002 error!

    Simply enable the "002 Fix" in your loader for the specific game that is crashing. No need to format/virginize
     
  12. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    No, I've seen the "Error 002" many times. This is different. "Error 002" never appears on screen, and even when the fix is set to enable on the Backup loader, it still doesn't work.

    Plus, it's even happening when running original discs from the Disc Loader channel.

    I'm pretty sure CiosCorp screwed up some IOSes.
     
  13. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I "virginized" my Wii following this guide:
    http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/other-stuff/virgin

    And I followed xzxero's Upgrade to 4.2 section, (and even the Modify 4.2 section) and I'm still getting the error:

    An error has occurred. Press
    the Eject Button and remove
    the disc, then turn the Wii
    console off and refer to the
    Wii Operations Manual for
    help troubleshooting.

    This happens when I put an original Wii or Gamecube game in. What the heck is going on.
     
  14. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    No one has run across this error?

    Could it have something to do with the connection of the DVD drive?

    Help me out here please... I've never had this happen to me with any of the ~90 Wii's I've modded.
     
  15. Wilson735
    OP

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    bump because I'm desperate
     

Share This Page