VC and Wii Ware not working with SD channel...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dead End, Jul 30, 2009.

Jul 30, 2009
  1. Dead End
    OP

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    every time i install a VC/Wii ware WAD and put it onto the SD card for the SD Menu,
    Every Time I open the SD menu it Freezes and when i try to move the VC and Wiiware
    back to the main menu it tries to load bannerbomb and im pretty sure i took it off... Help?

    I Have Wii menu 4.1U

    EDIT: do i need a whole new SD card for vc/wii ware? or can i use the one w/ all my homebrew apps on it?
     


  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you have Bannerbomb? Well, using Bannerbomb on the SD Card Menu will freeze. Try going to Data Management > Channels > SD Card.
     
  3. kingofsnake

    Newcomer kingofsnake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rename the Private folder on the root of your sd card, it is still the bannerbomb folder this will cause your symptoms.
     
  4. Dead End
    OP

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    What should I rename it?
     
  5. kingofsnake

    Newcomer kingofsnake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anything except Private, or just remove it, it's because it is the bannerbomb folder.
     
  6. Dead End
    OP

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    If I rename it the Wii ware & Virtual Consoles don't show up... A
    ny other suggestions?
     
  7. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Click the private folder (the that you use Bannerbomb) on your computer (SD card inserted), click the Wii folder, copy everything except the 'aktn' folder to the newly renamed private folder. Then use your Wii, go to the SD Card Menu to see what happends...
     
  8. BryceOne

    BryceOne Newbie

    Actually, it might be easier (and quicker) to just copy the AKTN folder to new temp folder, rather than copying all the WiiWare over.
     
  9. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    try installing IOS60

    coz thats what i did
     
  10. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    On your sd card there should be a directory that goes something like SD:\private\wii\title\a bunch of folders with different random letters for names. DELETE the one that says aktn completely. The other folders are the title ID's for whatever other VC/wiiware games or game saves are on the card.

    Also what the person above was getting at. If you haven't patched IOS60 yet with the shop installer or dop-IOS or something, you won't be able to play installed wads from the sd card menu anyways. So after you delete that bannerbomb folder, use dop-IOS to install the most recent IOS60 with the sig hash check if you haven't already.
     
  11. Dead End
    OP

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    It works but when loading a game, it says "Unable to load"
     
  12. Kakkoii

    Member Kakkoii Old fart

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Country:
    Canada
    If you can access the channels now that you've removed bannerbomb. Then you need to patch IOS60. Which enables pirated/homebrew wads to be launched.
     
  13. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea you need to a patched ios60. i think theres a guide in the ultimate4.0/1 guide.
     
  14. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    You need to patch IOS60. Go here: http://www.yafaze.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=1178. Download the "UBER package" and install IOS60.wad from it (using Wad Manager). You now have a patched IOS60, and your dubious Wiiware/VC games will work via SD.
     
  15. Dead End
    OP

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    ok thx i hope this works
     
  16. nihon6

    Newcomer nihon6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having a very similar problem.

    I'm on a soft-modded 4.1U Wii and have Bootmii as Boot2 and PreLoader as well (which means that I already have patched IOS60).

    I have moved the Nintendo channel, vote channel, and Check Mii out channel to the SD Card Menu ( Check Mii Out is the only one working without wfc24 on. I'd love any help or knowledge pertaining to getting around the WFC24 error as I've read multiple times that having it enabled on a soft-modded Wii is dangerous.)

    I also have moved a number of Wiiware games and VC games to the SD Card Menu to conserve Wii disk space for channels and games that I frequent.

    The Wii Channels actually load the only problem with them is the WFC24 problem. The Wiiware games and VC games, however, go to the launching screen and without any progress give the message failed to launch.

    Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  17. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Just use Dop-IOS to install a trucha bugged version of the IOS 60.
     
  18. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Just use DOP IOS to download and install IOS60 and Sig hash check it.

    So you can run VC games.
     
  19. nihon6

    Newcomer nihon6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I already have a trucha bugged IOS60 because I installed PreLoader.
    I can run VC and Wiiware off of the System Menu but not my SD Card Menu.
     
  20. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Just trust me, Install a patched IOS60 from DOP IOS then install preloader again.
     

Share This Page