VBAGX using roms from DS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dmonkey21, Jun 2, 2009.

Jun 2, 2009

VBAGX using roms from DS? by dmonkey21 at 5:43 PM (1,944 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. dmonkey21
    OP

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    I want to start using VBAGX emulator on my wii, but the only GBA roms I have are the ones on my R4 for use with EZFLash 3-in-1. (They are S-Ram patched with GBATA, and trimmed with it too) Can i just drop these roms off of my r4 and onto the Wii SD card, or do they need to be patched/unpatched for them to work?
     
  2. skx7

    Member skx7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Spain
    try at least before asking support
     
  3. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    What a stupid idea.
     
  4. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,183
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    do you have to be so rude?? (aimed at pippin)
    how is it a stupid idea?
    he is just asking a question.
    yeah, he could have tried it out himself, maybe he already has, but it is not a stupid idea.

    anyway, i would be 99% certain that it would work, since all sram patching does it change the way the rom saves (i'm quite sure), and i bet you that vbagx can handle that!
    i don't think oyu can unpatch them, with gbata- as far as i know.
     
  5. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,016
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm almost sure that they will work, the patch should affect only the way they save but I think vbagx can handle it. [​IMG]
     
  6. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    Well, a save patch would probably not remove compatibility with emulators, but you can't be sure until you've tried it.

    Though if I were you, I would keep clean copies of your roms just in case you come across an issue like this. It saves you a lot of frustration in the long run.
     
  7. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,183
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    didn't you read what i put? sure i added more words, but yeah... or were you just saying you thought the same thing.
    anyway op, did it work? any other questions that might not deserve a topic?
     

Share This Page