VBA saves!!!!

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by eherojinxer, Oct 28, 2007.

Oct 28, 2007

VBA saves!!!! by eherojinxer at 7:42 AM (14,567 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. eherojinxer
    OP

    Newcomer eherojinxer Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    China
    I got some save files from
    www.gamefaqs.com/portable/gbadvance/save/918915.html
    and I want to play them in my VBA, but the file is in *.sps the files I need must be in *.sg1

    How do I use these save files? Or should I convert them?

    Ex. This file "pokemon_firered_c.sps", which I've downloaded from the site above. My VBA files are like "Pokemon - Fire Red.sg1.SGM"


    PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,602
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure .sps is a type of gameshark format, .sgm is a save STATE not a save file like .sav
    Try importing it to VBA as a gameshark file, it's an option next to the importing .sav one, something like import gameshark snapshot.. ah .sps = snapshot maybe?
    If that doesn't work you could check shuny's online save file converter. Might be able to convert it, though I'm not sure if it supports the format.

    I reccomend using http://www.zophar.net/savestates.html saves over gamefaqs ones but as it's a Pokemon save I assume it has something in the save you really want?
     
  3. eherojinxer
    OP

    Newcomer eherojinxer Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    China
    I did use the import thing, but nothing happened... it just began the game from the starting point. It didn't load anything.
    Also, the website was good, thank you for the help, but the game I wanted's save game wasn't in there....

    THANKS STILL!!!
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Thug4L1f3 was correct about the "Import -> Gameshark Snapshot" thing. If that doesn't work, either the save file is corrupted (quite common on gamefaqs) or you're using it with the wrong region/version of the rom.
     
  5. eherojinxer
    OP

    Newcomer eherojinxer Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    China
    If the file was corrupted, would it show a warning or something?....

    Also, you're maybe right on the region thing..
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    VBA usually won't give an error, the save just won't work.
     
  7. eherojinxer
    OP

    Newcomer eherojinxer Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    China
    While we're on this VBA topic, why can't my gameshark codes work? I enter it, it doesn't show warnings or anything, so I thought it worker, but when I play, nothing changed! WHY???? I entered from "Cheat - Cheat List - Gameshark..." Then I enter the code, it doesn't respond and it doesn't work...
     

Share This Page