Using SD Gecko and D2pro to dump games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by christicehurst, Jul 3, 2008.

Jul 3, 2008
  1. christicehurst
    OP

    Newcomer christicehurst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    A will dumper for the SD Gecko. Mine came in the mail with just the memory card and nothing else. I have searched this forum and others and there doesn't seem to be a official software for it or a dumper. Currently the Wii says the card cannot be used.

    I used the DVDtoSD by emu_kidd and it has .dol files so I have no idea how to use them. I'm hoping someone might have the answer here.
     
  2. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
  3. christicehurst
    OP

    Newcomer christicehurst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Seven pages of a thread for a new guy ins't going to help me [​IMG]

    I have had a look and downloaded the new software however the SD Gecko is unreadable, it never shows up, how do I boot dol files?
     
  4. christicehurst
    OP

    Newcomer christicehurst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like there's no hope for my case. I can't get a D2pro9 disc working and the SC Gecko is rubbish.
     
  5. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try the Wiikey utilities disc. There's a disc dumper on there. You'll need a Gamecube controller.
     
  6. Koekje

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can you use the WiiKey Utilities disc on a D2PRO then? I have also a D2PRO and wanted to dump games, but was afraid it would not work.
     
  7. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The disc has no idea whether you have a Wiikey or D2PRO. It's just a collection of Gamecube apps basically.

    You WILL need a Gamecube controller though. They can be bought quite cheaply, dealextreme has some

    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13971

    It's cheap and nasty but if all you're using it for is flicking through menus on a utilities disc, who cares.
     
  8. mstanka

    Newcomer mstanka Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States

    This is really easy. Just follow these steps bellow.

    First goto this link and download the sdload boot disk: http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3884

    Once downloaded burn to a DVD (MUST be a DVD as Wii will not read a cd-r)

    Then put the sddvd01g dol file on an sd card. If you have two use the smaller one so that you will not have to put this file back on each time part of the disk is dumped.

    Put the SD card with the sddvd01g dol file in the sd gecko and insert into slot one. Start up the "game" (the boot disk).

    It will then look at the sd card in the sd gecko, and will allow you to boot to the dol files that are on the card. Choose the sddvd01g file.

    Once this program loads, you can remove the sd card with the sddvd01g file and put the larger sd card in the sd gecko, put back into slot 1. Then follow the instructions for the program. It will format the card and dump the disk up to the size of the disk.

    I use a 2gb card, and have to move the file to my computer 3 times.

    I hope that this helps.

    Just as with any GC homebrew, you will need a GC controller.

    Michael.
     
  9. christicehurst
    OP

    Newcomer christicehurst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! Someone who use plain english for newbies!

    Now with the different part files from the SD card tranfers, what software do I use to bring them together again?
     
  10. mstanka

    Newcomer mstanka Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Just use the software called HJsplit, it is free and easy to use.

    Michael.
     

Share This Page