Hacking Using retail N3DSXL as playtesting console for Unity

JoelLouviere

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Hey, I signed up with Nintendo's Dev website to try and fiddle with Unity on the New3DS but I'm not sure how to go about getting it all working.
I have Luma 8.0 and Boot9Strap all installed with Rosalina and everything so I could try and use it as a debugging setup for running dev builds of Unity demos or games on it. I'm not sure if it's a Unity problem or my setup being wrong but it installed the built CIA file just fine but crashed with a prefetch abort error when I tried to start the game.
It was something about like trying to use a non-existent memory address for the game or whatever.
I have it on the latest firmware and I enabled the SYSINFO option on Luma's settings but retail games still run, so I'm not sure if it actually worked or not. I'm a novice at console development if you couldn't already tell.

Last edited by JoelLouviere,

Myria

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
A hacked 3DS should be able to run .cia files meant for devkits just fine. I wouldn't know much about the Nintendo SDK, but try to find a sample application that you could run on the system to verify that that aspect works.

I would also try without the UNITINFO hack enabled.

Last edited by Myria,

JoelLouviere

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
A hacked 3DS should be able to run .cia files meant for devkits just fine. I wouldn't know much about the Nintendo SDK, but try to find a sample application that you could run on the system to verify that that aspect works.

I would also try without the UNITINFO hack enabled.
I tried it without UNITINFO enabled and it still crashed. The project is mostly empty but I put a few things into it, which may be causing it to crash. Nothing huge, but i did take a prefab character that's incredibly low-poly from the asset store and threw it into it. I'm not sure what else would be causing it, honestly.