Using DSbrowser to browse the net through mobile?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Rankas, May 11, 2007.

May 11, 2007
  1. Rankas
    OP

    Newcomer Rankas Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    I just wondered if it were possible to browse the net on the ds through mobile connection like 3g/edge? or dont the DS got bluetooth ?
     
  2. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    No, the DS only has legacy 802.11. I can only dream of a DS with GSM 1900MHz HSDPA.
     
  3. Rankas
    OP

    Newcomer Rankas Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    Would a bluetooth device in the Ds really cost that much?[​IMG] Seems like Nintendo is only aiming for kids under 10 with their handheld consoles. Even though they got more potensial like the psp.
     
  4. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I gotta say, I'm impressed with the psp graphics.
     
  5. - Wrath of God -

    Member - Wrath of God - God

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    Well it hasn't been made yet, and I don't think that anyone's thought of that. However a DS bluetooth device would go in the GBA slot, right? And since the Opera browser only works with a Ram Pack/Flash cart, it'd kinda defeat its purpose, eh? Unless you wanna use a homebrew browser.
     
  6. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if EZflash can fit a rumble motor and the flash memory alongside the 8MBs of ram in the 3-in-1, I'm sure Nintendo could fit a GSM receiver in their cart along with the 8MBs of ram (or maybe more, which would be useful >_>)
     
  7. crafton48

    Member crafton48 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought the 3 in 1 had 32megs of ram?
     
  8. fli_guy84

    Member fli_guy84 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Nope, the 3in1 has 16MB worth of PSRAM. 32MB is for the NOR flash.
     
  9. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Um..bluetooth doesn't do the DS any good. The network chip in it now has been chosen for 3 reasons. It's cheaper, it can connect to both other DSes and routers, and it has low power consumption.
     
  10. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    Exactly. Bluetooth, IMO, sucks power from a battery like a vampire sucks blood from a person
     

Share This Page