Using an R4 NDS/NDSL on my Nintendo 3DS ?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Rinzler, Jun 21, 2011.

Jun 21, 2011
  1. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    Hello =)

    I'm going to buy a Nintendo 3DS soon, and I actually have a few questions about. I'm using an R4 Revolution for DS NDS/NDSL flashcart, and I was wondering if it could work on the 3DS on DS mode, or perhaps when will it work on ...

    And even if it works, how to make it work ? I've heard there's actually some flashcarts like the Acekard2i, CycloDS, R4i or else working in DS mode.

    Thanks ya [​IMG]
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If it doesn't work on the DSi, it won't work on the 3DS and there is no way to make it work on either the DSi nor the 3DS.
    Some flashcards do work on the 3DS, such as the Acekard 2i, Supercard Two, Supercard DSonei, ect. Most flashcards that work on the DSi now work on the 3DS.
     
  3. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    So there's no chance for the original R4 to work on the Nintendo 3DS, until the R4 team or another make a new firmware ?
     
  4. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    If it doesn't work on the DSI, it won't work for the 3ds, and I highy doubt that they would make a firmware for it since they already have a R4I Gold for such a thing.
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There is no chance, nor hold my breathe that a dead team will ever come back.
    If want to go for an R4 with all the R4 Features and works on the 3DS, go with the R4i Gold from R4i Gold.cn or the R4iDSN since they are pretty much the same card.
     
  6. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    It isn't fair for the original R4's owners [​IMG]

    I still hope they'll make a new firmware ...
     
  7. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    R4 users now have R4 Wood, which means now they are up there with AKAIO users. I think it balances out.
     
  8. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    Yeah, I'm using the Wood firmware with my R4 ; but I don't know what it changes with the fact that it won't allow me to use it on the 3DS ...
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can also buy an R4i Gold from R4i Gold.cn for like 10$ here and that runs R4 Wood on the 3DS.
     
  10. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    Thanks, but I'll wait ...

    There might be A New Hope (XD) next week, or next month, or next year ...

    I'LL WAIT UNTIL THIS FIRMWARE COMES OUT =)
     
  11. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Good luck with that [​IMG]
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    they need more than luck
    [​IMG]

    you just hate breaking bad news [​IMG]
     
  13. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm a lawyer not a doctor!
     
  14. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My friend, it won't. The original R4 team is behind bars in jail for being found and lost the court case against Ninty. They aren't going to make it ever! Listen, the R4 has been dead for years, thats where the clones kicked in. Some people have taken over the R4 design, and evolved it. The true succesor's in the R4 saga (it is if you think about it) are the R4i Gold and the R4i DSN. These can actually be played on the 3DS system. Listen pal, give up, R4 Original is never ever going to get a new update from the real team. Wood is what keeps it alive, but only for DS/L. I suggest you move on and get a new card like R4i Gold, or the Higher class carts like SCDSTWO and Ak2i.
     
  15. Rinzler
    OP

    Newcomer Rinzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    Yeah ... I'm going to buy an Acekard2i ...

    I'll keep my R4 for movies and homebrew, thanks a lot !
     
  16. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you watch movies on your DS, it would be a better to just buy a Supercard Two since the video player is the best on the DS
    Trust me, the DSTwo is worth every penny.
     
  17. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But if you don't have the cash for it, just get an AK2i!


    And offtopic: "Whats an Uke?" Uke stands for Ukulele [​IMG]
     

Share This Page