using a usa 3ds charger in australia?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Bladexdsl, Jul 25, 2011.

Jul 25, 2011
  1. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i'll be getting a 3ds soon and since we always get shafted on game release dates here plus it's cheaper to buy a 3ds from usa with our godly dollar [​IMG] i'll be importing mine. just need to know 1 thing

    will i be able to use 1 of these: http://www.myrcmart.com/ac-dc-plug-convert...ket-p-2738.html to plug the charger into our wall sockets?
     
  2. Youkai

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    Well i didn't try it out but I assume it should work ...
    i had a DSLite from USA which i could load without any problems with a german charger.
     
  3. dicamarques

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Probably yes, my 3ds and wii came from England and it works( i'm from Portugal)
     
  4. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    What's the AC voltage in Australia?

    Edit: Just found out that it's 220 volts. Which means if you plug in the USA charger using that converter, your charger will fry faster than you can say '3DS'. You will need a 220 to 110 volt step down transformer.
     
  5. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IRC Australias voltage is 240V, so a USA charger will not work, however you can buy an Australia charger that will work fine on a USA 3DS.

    (you could also buy a voltage converter, but the price will likely be more than a 3DS charger)
     
  6. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you can do that? i thought you couldn't cost of the voltage differences?
     
  7. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It will work fine, the output of the chargers are the same.

    Even found a quick youtube vid showing an aus dsi charger working on a usa 3ds:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcW1C8KUwJQ[/youtube]
     
  8. relminator

    Member relminator GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Philippines
    I'm not so sure about that. My daughter had a habit of putting our US DSL charger on a 220 V outlet and all that happens is that the DSL won't charge. So the DSL charger has some kind of autovoltage protection which I would assume the 3DS charger has too.
     
  9. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Yeah it will be fine. I'm using a 220v DSi charger from Singapore on my USA 3DS [​IMG]
     
  10. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    sweet i'll do that than
    to ebay!
     

Share This Page