Hacking Using 3d tv with 3ds but stuck on the highest 3d setting?

ilovesharks

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi there,

I bought a PAL 3ds XL with a broken top screen off Ebay and hooked it up to my 3D tv (don't ask why, i'm an electrical engineer and a bit of a geek)

Unfortunately I can't seem to change the 'depth' of the 3d using the depth control option built into the tv firmware (akin to what you would normally with the 3D slider on the right of the top screen), instead it is stuck at the highest setting which looks slightly jarring on a 55" display .

Do you guys know if the 3d slider is software related - will it require a 3ds hack to be able to do this?

Thanks!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I must confess I am also kind of curious about the adapter stuff -- is the protocol "needs full FPGA recoding rig" or "just needs a given model of screen"? (or something somewhere in the middle).

ilovesharks

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
No I didn't use a capture card because the resolution is bottlenecked by top screen when the hardware can produce a picture with 4x the resolution of the top screen (I presume the same must be true for the bottom screen being 320x240 QVGA, since the camera's output is 640x480), instead i had to rely on a lot of spare parts and soldering.
Thanks for the answer Fyrus

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
props to this guy. any pics? you seem to have gotten so in depth in this you probably wont find an answer from any of us. try using parental control on the 3ds to force a limit? I honestly don't know from this point but it's an idea.

lismati

Speedrunner in practice
Trophies
Website
www.wiiplanet.info
XP
Country
Poland
Parental controls can only turn off the 3D entirely.
The screen works pretty much like those 3D picture things you get in the cereal or crisps. It's called parallax barrier, and the 3D slider controls it, no software involved.

spiritofcat

Trophies
XP