Use your own pictures (not taken by DSi camera) on the DSi?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by FredWP, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. FredWP
    OP

    Newcomer FredWP Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'd like to use my own pictures from my SD card to show up on the upper screen when I'm in the menu.

    I tried generating the picture I wanted, matching the same resolution and sRGB color profile as those taken with the camera, but doing so does not make them show up.

    Then I thought it might work by just overwriting existing pictures with my own (not replacing files, but opening file and pasting over the existing content). I tried this in Photoshop and Windows Paint and the pictures remain visible, but the DSi reports that it can't show the picture.
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They designed the DSi not to support images that aren't from the camera. Maybe after it's hacked this won't be a problem.

    Smooth move Nidiots.
     
  3. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Let's see, do you think they'd rather let people have to deal with on pictures taken by the camera being on the DSi or deal with a shit load of pirates and hackers?
     
  4. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Based on how the PSP can be hacked with files in the photo/image/whichever folder, I'm not surprised Nintendo don't want pictures not from the camera to be used, but they just aren't making it easy for us.
     
  5. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    Maybe they have a header?
     
  6. FredWP
    OP

    Newcomer FredWP Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Belgium
    I now just put up the picture on my PC and take a picture of it as it is on the screen. It seems to work out fine, and gives it a nice effect as well.
     
  7. Dead End

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    wouldnt we be able to edit Hex values of a PC Picture to match Whats Needed in DSI Pictures?
    imma do an experiment when i Get a DSi in a couple Months(hopefull)
     

Share This Page