Use your laptop as an access point for a 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by L_o_N_e_R, Mar 31, 2011.

Mar 31, 2011
    • Member

    L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Now you might be wondering what the hell you're gonna need this for, seeing as most people have wireless routers. But some people might not be able to buy a wireless router, or be in a place where you aren't allowed to have a router(i.e college dorms). So this guide is for people who don't have the luxury to buy or use one.

    in theory you can connect anything that uses WPA2-PSK(so no DS lites here, but there might be an option to change that) WEP or WPA2-PSK, but im focusing on a 3DS on this

    What you need:
    Connectify
    A computer with an Ethernet connection and/or a wireless card
    a 3DS
    A Windows 7 OS with a compatible wifi cardLinky


    Step 1:

    Install the software

    Step 2:

    After Installation run connectify and run the wizard

    Step 3:

    Choose the your Wifi card as the access point

    Step 4:

    Choose SSID

    Step 5:

    Choose Password

    Step 6:

    Now choose Local Area Network when it asks what you want to share

    Step 7:

    Finish it up, look at the tray icon for connectify and open it up, then click on the "Start Hotspot" if it hasn't already

    Step 8:

    Now configure you're 3DS



    optional:

    if you prefer WEP and want to use that for DS games then do this, however you need BOTH an ethernet connection with this

    Step A:

    Right Click the Icon and select Options--> Unhide Settings

    Step B:

    Now open up the connectify window, there should be a new option up called Mode, change it AD-HOC WEP( or open if you want)




    If this doesn't work, or if this is hella confusing please post and ask here

    I'm probably not going to add pics, but if you guys really need me to i might






    Mini FAQ's:

    Q: I switched to WEP and I have no more internet anymore

    A: WEP needs another source for internet, so hook up that Ethernet cable

    Q: DS games wont connect using the 3DS and I've made sure my 3DS can connect to the internet

    A: two steps to solve this

    1) switch over to WEP mode, as DS games cannot use anything else
    2) you must make you're own connection using the DS wireless setting

    note that DSI enhanced games don't need this


    • Member

    DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    7,638
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a compatible wireless card, you can also use Intel MyWiFi. It's better since it supports WEP too.
    • Member

    Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    That's the way I connect to Xbox Live on the 360 because I didn't want to buy the wireless adapter or run a long ass cord to my desktop's router that was in other room.

    Yeah, that should help some people that didn't know though for both the console and the 3DS. (I didn't consider doing that with the 3DS before).
    • Member

    L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    413
    Country:
    United States

    yeah college kids get it bad.. lol (at least in my school)
    • Member

    zergslayer69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    Country:
    United States
    Works like a charm. I set it to wireless instead of local area and that fixed it for me. Then again my set up is a bit different than usual.
    • Member

    spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    Looks like good info!
    Just one thing though, you're means you are. The word you want is your.
    • Member

    L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    413
    Country:
    United States

    i realized that after i posted it


    i didnt know how to edit titles -______-
    • Member

    sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed Connectify, it disabled internet from working on my laptop at all. The moment I un-installed it, I got my internet back. Weird.

    Anyway, I tried to use my iPhone with bluetooth tethering and then use connectify, didn't work. [IMG] Ah well. . . . .
    • Member

    L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    413
    Country:
    United States

    hmm are you using an ethernet connection? for the internet and your wifi as to broadcast? or are you using wifi only?

    first thing you do is to check if your wifi card is compatible, if it isnt then you either A: get something compatible, or B: get the actual Nintendo Wifi adapter(which in this case you dont need to use connectify at all)


    if it is compatible then check these

    turn off auto hide in settings and check that the Internet box is set to Local Area Connection and Wireless Network Connection


    if you are using Ad-hoc you cannot use you wifi to go to the internet as well

    and try to install in administrator mode



    to be honest i've never really tried to use wifi only, as i had an ethernet port near me at all times
    • Member

    Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    i knew this before
    • Member

    Walkin travel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Weird, I can get my 3DS to connect in DS mode, but not in 3DS mode. I've tried WEP and no security. Same thing it fails during the test saying no internet connection.
    • Member

    Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    1,144
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I just want to thank the OP for this. This works wonderfully with my Ipod Touch.

    EDIT: could this fry my wireless card if I plan on using it alot?
    • Member

    Walkin travel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Updated my wireless card drivers and everything works fine now. [IMG]
    • Member

    DarkraiHunter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Elsewhere
    Country:
    Pakistan
    I keep getting a "connection failed" message each time I try to test it. :/
    Doesn't connectify use Ad-hoc? I read somewhere that the 3DS doesn't support ad-hoc hotspots.
    • Member

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Posts:
    2,020
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I tried, I have an Intel MyWiFi card, and I also have a wireless router, but I really wanted to connect my DS to a WEP network ( and I don't feel to switch my router settings ) , and when I try to enable internet sharing, I get an error message saying that the sharing can't be enabled because some other service is using it such as a blue tooth, and I don't know how to configure this.
    Any help ?
    • Member

    McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,609
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ubuntu and some other Linux distros, as well as some Synology NAS devices, have this kind of thing built-in. In Ubuntu, just go to via Unity Dash to Network->Wireless and then click on "Use as hotspot". I use my NAS as a hotspot for connecting my DS/3DS so that I can keep the less secure WEP separate from my main network.
    • Member

    YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    Etten-Leur, NB
    Country:
    Netherlands
    *Looks at Title, and reads*
    "Use you are laptop as an access point for a 3DS"
    But I'm no Laptop!

    Edit: It's fix'd.
    • Member

    ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,385
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    IIRC, Connectify makes an adhoc wifi hotspot. The 3DS/DS can only do infrastructure.

    Also, I tried this before on my laptop, but it seems it doesn't quite work for me. No longer an issue for me though, we have a wireless router.
    • Member

    YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    Etten-Leur, NB
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Actually, my 3DS works fine on my Connectify setup (well, only the speed is horrible, but that's because I'm ripping a HotSpot from a fucking Park).
    • Newcomer

    Nuttyasafruitcak Nutter Extraordinare

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the definite only way (without changing router settings) to get a WEP connection on a laptop is to plug in an ethernet cable?

    Balls. Nice guide anyway.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page