use a gba screen on a gba sp

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by dude1, Jul 3, 2006.

Jul 3, 2006

use a gba screen on a gba sp by dude1 at 11:04 PM (1,097 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. dude1
    OP

    Member dude1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Canada
    i have both a gba and a gbasp my gba sp has a broken screen
    can i use the one in my old gba to repair it
     
  2. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you SHOULD be able to.

    Yesterday when I was raiding that Circuit City deal I came across a guy near my age with a kid. We got to talkin as he saw my Zelda shirt, and it came up that he had this 'nes' style SP and then also got one of those new brighter SPs. Well he got sneaky and used a triwing bit and swapped the two SP's screens so his NES one is very bright like the DS/Micro. Basically the screen is attached with a very small twisted ribbon cable with a small plug. I'm going to guess the same size and plugged jack screen sits in an old GBA so I'd give it a shot.
     
  3. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you still switch between two brightness setting after the switch?
     
  4. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Hell if I know. [​IMG]

    I imagine it would really depend how the switch is relayed to the screen and all that. On the SP the button was simple ON/OFF for the backlight, so if that button switch setup was between the power relay from the battery to the screen then yes. But if it was the screen itself that has the on/off built into it then I'd assume not right?
     
  5. dude1
    OP

    Member dude1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Canada
    even if i hear the new "brighter" sp is brighter because its backlit where my old one was the original front lit sp at least ive been told its front lit
    anyone else have a idea if this will work
     
  6. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    The frontlighting is actually attached to the GBA SP's LCD. I don't think you are able to seperate the two and put that onto the original GBA screen. Also the power the LCD consumes would logically be less if the frontlighting doesn't have it's own wiring for power -- and then couldn't be swapped anyway because of a change in ribbon design. Take a look at this shop to see how different the LCDs are in design. Obviously the cable design is so drastically changed that you wouldn't be able to get it to reach to the LCD connector.

    Edit: If you look at this pic you can see that the backlighting is built into the LCD so it can't be attached to an original GBA's LCD. It looks like the ribbon cable goes directly into an LCD power inverter (used to control the backlighting of the LCD). This leads me to think there is a different pinout that wouldn't work even if you could get the cable to reach.

    So in short: no, it won't work.
     

Share This Page