USBLoader GX saying I have to install DIOS MIOS to play Gamecube games (DIOS MIOS *is* installed)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hammyface, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. Hammyface
    OP

    Member Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys. Long time member here, you guys are always great and I hoped you could help me get Gamecube backups working from my hard drive since I have been trying all week now.

    I ModMii to update all my IOS' to the newest releases. Included in it is DIOS MIOS. Yet when I start up USB Loader GX (where I can boot Wii games just fine) and I select a Gamecube rip, it gives me the above error. Keep in mind I am using the very latest USBLoader GX beta.

    It seems as though USBLoader GX doesn't know that DIOS MIOS is installed? Would anyone know why that is? Again, I used the automated process that ModMii gives if that is helpful at all to me figuring this out.

    Thanks so much guys! I really look forward to having my entire Gamecube and Wii collection in one tiny little corner of my room! :)
     
  2. Wiiman10

    Newcomer Wiiman10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I also would like to know I am on 4.1u. Thanks OP for creating this thread as well.
     
    Hammyface likes this.
  3. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    go into the settings > credits
    Tell me which version you see at the top (copy the two lines)

    I didn't know DIOS MIOS was included in modMii.
    Maybe you had DIOS MIOS, and also the official MIOS as wad in the folder with all the wad files to install (which, alphabetically MIOS comes after DIOS MIOS and probably replaced it).

    Please, try installing DIOS MIOS (or DIOS MIOS lite) manually again using a wad manager.
    It should be detected by GX in the credit page.

    If it's still not detected, there are two combined possibilities:

    You are using IOS222 or 223 instead of IOS249 as default IOS in the loader.
    You are using the boot.dol version IOS222
    AND
    You are not using the <no_ios_reload/> tag in the meta.xml
    You don't have the latest HBC (probably not, if you followed modmii tutorial)
     
    Hammyface likes this.
  4. Hammyface
    OP

    Member Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for your helpful reply. I am using the latest beta USB Loader GX that was just released on their Google code page. I did what you said with using WAD Manager and now I do not get the error, but my Wii simply turns off when I select a Gamecube game! D:
     
  5. themanuel

    Member themanuel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Take it step by step:

    Go to the google code page and download one of the two items at the top fo the list:
    - DIOS MIOS if your games are on USB
    - DIOS MIOS Lite if your games are on SD

    Use Wad Manager to install the wad you downloaded

    Use the included DMToolBox to install a game, making sure it is supported and use a format that works for it (extracted vs. image)

    In USB Loader GX's settings, set all the "DM" options to off, to start out.

    Try to launch a game and let us know how it goes.
     
    Hammyface likes this.
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    So you don't see the message telling you that you need DM, then it means it's correctly installed and detected.

    The Wii shutdown when DM encounters a problem and crash.

    Maybe it doesn't like your config, or your hardware.
    It's also happening randomly, so try again to boot the game few times. Seagate HDD are often the problematic one. It happens with other loaders too :(
     
    Hammyface likes this.

Share This Page