dysan

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Greece
on a previous thread I made,I learned that because the wii can only read the burned DVDs at half speed then some slowdown,sound cutting and video slowdown are normal.

correct?

so I was thinking...what if I connect a usb hard drive and load games onto it?
will that mean that they will play at normal speeds?
since it won't have to read any disk?

yes yes....I'm a noob
rolleyes.gif

Szalkow

RawkSD Cheerleader
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Some games may experience slow loading screens or choppy playback during videos. In the case of some older music games with poor buffering (Guitar Hero Aerosmith ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS) it can lead to desynchronized chart and music. Of course, bad burns or rips can also cause audio and video issues.

USB loads as fast as the HDD can access and transfer, often faster than even an unmodified Wii disc drive can. Some games will show a tangible improvement in load times (play Metroid Prime 3 and time how long it takes for doors to load when playing from USB - much faster).

jaynecobb

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
definitely go the usb loader route.

playing burnt dvd's through backup loaders absolutely kills cutscenes, and makes games nigh unbearable.

i suffered through the backup loaders way back in the day, then switched to usb and haven't looked back.

dysan

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Greece
after reading some guides I've come up with a few questions....

in order to play games via a USB HDD I need to put the games(the downloaded ones) from my pc to the HDD and then connect it with the wii?
can that be done?

because it says that WBFS format is only recognizable by the wii and not PCs...

can I download games,burn them to DVDs,then rip them on to the HDD connected to the wii and finally playing them via the HD and not the DVD?