Hacking USB Loader GX

  • Thread starter cyrex
  • Start date
  • Views 6,461,765
  • Replies 28,022
  • Likes 42

ukigh4ie

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 27, 2020
Messages
94
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
335
Country
Germany
James0x57 has stopped the cheats database GeckoCodes.org and refers to GameHacking.org as successor.

Time to adapt USB Loader GX.
 

Cragdore

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
294
Country
United States
Is there any way or plan to have USBLoaderGX launch channels saved on the SD card menu like how it can with wii menu NAND channels? It's nice being able to open all my stuff without having to switch between the SD card menu and GX loader.
 

almmiron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
379
Trophies
0
XP
1,409
Country
Brazil
Is there any way or plan to have USBLoaderGX launch channels saved on the SD card menu like how it can with wii menu NAND channels? It's nice being able to open all my stuff without having to switch between the SD card menu and GX loader.
I can't remember any app that can do that. But i can see why. If you want only to use usbloaderGX, instead of save your stuff at first place in sd card, install your backuped wad files on usb via usbloadergx and boot from there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Cragdore

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
294
Country
United States
I can't remember any app that can do that. But i can see why. If you want only to use usbloaderGX, instead of save your stuff at first place in sd card, install your backuped wad files on usb via usbloadergx and boot from there.
I'll give that a try, will game saves go to the NAND the same way as a regular menu launch?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

James0x57 has stopped the cheats database GeckoCodes.org and refers to GameHacking.org as successor.

Time to adapt USB Loader GX.


Has anyone played around with the idea of having a separate server who's sole purpose is to distribute codes to wii's, arranging an agreement with GeckoCodes.org, GameHacking.org, etc. to receive a copy of their codes periodically, like once a month? That way loaders can still easily get their codes and the other sites don't have to worry too much about DDoS or other high service issues. Just an idea.

Edit: It appears GeckoCodes is merging with GameHacking. I hope the Loaders are updated to use GameHacking services like how it was with Gecko.
 
Last edited by Cragdore,

almmiron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
379
Trophies
0
XP
1,409
Country
Brazil
I'll give that a try, will game saves go to the NAND the same way as a regular menu launch?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------





Has anyone played around with the idea of having a separate server who's sole purpose is to distribute codes to wii's, arranging an agreement with GeckoCodes.org, GameHacking.org, etc. to receive a copy of their codes periodically, like once a month? That way loaders can still easily get their codes and the other sites don't have to worry too much about DDoS or other high service issues. Just an idea.
You can use savegame manager GX to backup your nand saves and import them to emunand to use with your games installed on emunand. This is the way I do. Some games wont boot with usbloadergx, you can try also with postloader4, it has greater compatibility with emunand wads if you encounter problem with some games. Usbloadergx for all other features.

The saves will be stored on emunand, because you'll be setting up the usbloaderGX emunand to full (you can do do this on a per game basis)
 
Last edited by almmiron,

morrisonian

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
128
Country
Spain
Hi guys, so long story short, I bought an SSD for my latptop, swap the HDD for the SSD. Now, the 500 GB HDD, wanted to use it for the Wii games, since I have already a 1TB HDD, but I think it's too much for the Wii. So, I only copied all my folders and files from the 1 TB to the 500 GB HDD so I could use it on my wii with USB Loader GX. And I have some GC games, wiiware, and the wii backups. So, whenever I connect my ex-laptop 500 gb HDD to the Wii, it only displays the wii games, but not the gamecube and wiiware games, which is pretty weird. Already opened nintendont via homebrew channel, and it loaded the games pretty easy. I checked the HDD via crystaldiskinfo and found no errors whatsoever.

Can anybody help me out in this one to what should I do? Cause the 500 HDD is pretty fine, I even changed it from enclosure, to see if it was the enclosure, and it isn't. Then connected back the 1TB HDD and it was working pretty well.

Already formatted the 500 GB to FAT32, MBR, USB port 0 conencted. Any ideas/suggestions?
 
Last edited by morrisonian,
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,367
Trophies
2
XP
18,325
Country
United States
there's a horizontal tab list at the top of usb loader gx. one of the icons will have it show nand, emunand, gc, or wii games. select all except normal nand (unless you have games on there).
 

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,642
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
3,308
Country
France
So, I only copied all my folders and files from the 1 TB to the 500 GB HDD so I could use it on my wii with USB Loader GX. And I have some GC games, wiiware, and the wii backups. So, whenever I connect my ex-laptop 500 gb HDD to the Wii, it only displays the wii games, but not the gamecube and wiiware games, which is pretty weird. Already opened nintendont via homebrew channel, and it loaded the games pretty easy. I checked the HDD via crystaldiskinfo and found no errors whatsoever.
Hello

tick the boxes corresponding to your wishes

did you do this ==>
lk4yJ.jpg
 
Last edited by jeannotte,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

jr299

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
58
Country
United States
how do the files work in this patch?

https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1268#post-8224138



I've got two HDDs connected to my Wii U with additional adapters connected too. Port 0 has the vWii drive. Port 1 has Rockband instrument USB HID adapters. the front right port has my Wii U drive. the two HDDs are powered too, and the vWii is running Ustealth so that the Wii U side of things doesn't try to format it.


Ever since I setup two drives, my nintendont gamecube injects kept giving me black screens.
Did a little troubleshooting, and it turns out this only happens if you have USB devices plugged in while booting into nintendont.
Read somewhere that this could also be a compatibility issue on the USBLoader GX side of things, as injects boot into that before they boot into nintendont.



Some posts point towards using the files in the link above, but I don't know where to put the boot.elf and patch files.
 

blackb0x

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
441
Trophies
0
XP
2,081
Country
United Kingdom
@jr299 That's just an outdated version of USB Loader GX. Newer versions already contain all of the changes.

If this issue also occurs with WiiFlow then maybe you could try using Devolution instead of Nintendont? The only catch is that you need to verify your backups by putting the disks into your Wii at least once.
 
Last edited by blackb0x,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Oddx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
145
Country
United States
@geoGolem, @blackb0x, @Cyan

After testing geoGolem's cache build i was inspired to implement caching in other places to speed things up. The attached patch will cache Wii, GameCube, EMUnand headers and static sorts. Settings and cache reset have been integrated into the settings section. My load times went from 60-70 seconds down to 6-8. All the filtering options in static sorted lists are nearly instant with large collections. Check it out and please feel free to make suggestions or add improvements.

Patch includes:
Header Cache system
List Cache System
Cheat Download Fix
Missing Cheat Downloader
 

Attachments

  • usbloadergx_1272_cache_v2_cheat_v1.zip
    9.5 KB · Views: 236
Last edited by Oddx,

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,616
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,070
Country
France
Thank you for taking the time to make a patch for that feature :)
It was requested for a looong time.
You could add a copyright info in the file header if you want. adding both GeoGolem and your name with 2020 at the top of cache.cpp/hpp
If I add that patch and release it as 1273, people will have to test it (my wii is broken, probably bad NAND cells?). and Blackb0x will have to update his version too, as it contains more features.
Thanks for making it a 1272 patch :)

When you add a new game, is the "reset cache" automatically triggered ? or you need to press that settings ?
does it recreate cache file with new added games? or does it only delete the cache folder?
When is the cache file generated, at game list generation or exiting the loader? (I didn't check all the sources yet)
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Oddx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
145
Country
United States
Thank you for taking the time to make a patch for that feature :)
It was requested for a looong time.
You could add a copyright info in the file header if you want. adding both GeoGolem and your name with 2020 at the top of cache.cpp/hpp
If I add that patch and release it as 1273, people will have to test it (my wii is broken, probably bad NAND cells?). and Blackb0x will have to update his version too, as it contains more features.
Thanks for making it a 1272 patch :)

When you add a new game, is the "reset cache" automatically triggered ? or you need to press that settings ?
does it recreate cache file with new added games? or does it only delete the cache folder?
When is the cache file generated, at game list generation or exiting the loader? (I didn't check all the sources yet)

reset cache just kills the cache folder, its been added to the processes i could find where you use usbloadergx to add and remove games but its untested since i dont know where my discs are atm. it doesn't auto trigger if you add or remove games manually on disk but you can manually trigger that case until that part gets figured out. the system works by bypassing long running processes if a cache file is there.. if not it runs your processing and then caches it. so it creates new cache files that are missing as it finds them missing. I tried not to step on the existing code to much other than the hooks into the necessary functions. So something slow when you boot it the first time or reset it the cache will be created again the next time it looks to reload the games/lists. Ranking, Play Count and Favorites lists are not cached to files and will take longer since they need to refresh but ABC and Player Count modes will be fast with cache and filters are cached as they are done so overtime if people use that feature they become instant.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,616
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,070
Country
France
thank you for the detailed info :)
That's already a good start and nice to see improving it is an option.

filtered list (fav, categories, etc.) should be fast enough, as long as the full game list is cached at load time. I think that's not necessary to cache only the filtered one, but it would be even faster to load if you do. it'll take longer to change the filters as the user will have to reset the cache to see the change as it would be missing games in the full game list.

Is this patch a developer thing, or does the loader somehow recognize a .patch file??
it's a developer thing.
it's used to patch the sources files, and then you need to compile the loader again to get the new version.
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Oddx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
145
Country
United States
thank you for the detailed info :)
That's already a good start and nice to see updating it is still an option.

Oh yea this is attempt 1... its fully open to changes to make it the best. If anyone sees a better method or stuff missing, feel free to add it or suggest please.

@Cyan
Is your wii broken or corrupt? if you can pull a bootmii nand from it to get the updated badblock list you could probably use ohneschwanzenegger to make a clean firmware with the updated badbock list and get that wii back up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,616
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,070
Country
France
I have [email protected], I can make a dump to check new bad block, I didn't took the time to do it yet.
thank you for the suggestion and wanting to help.

I have an old bootmii dump, and I don't remember if Bootmii can move bad block automatically if the bad block count are different.
my idea is to make a new dump.
try to restore old one (maybe it's just a corrupted system file, not NAND cells), if not working then use ohne to fix/move blocks from my old dump based on new bad block map? if possible. I never used Ohne so I don't know all the features yet.
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

geoGolem

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
695
Country
Canada
Thank you for taking the time to make a patch for that feature :)
It was requested for a looong time.
You could add a copyright info in the file header if you want. adding both GeoGolem and your name with 2020 at the top of cache.cpp/hpp
If I add that patch and release it as 1273, people will have to test it (my wii is broken, probably bad NAND cells?). and Blackb0x will have to update his version too, as it contains more features.
Thanks for making it a 1272 patch :)

When you add a new game, is the "reset cache" automatically triggered ? or you need to press that settings ?
does it recreate cache file with new added games? or does it only delete the cache folder?
When is the cache file generated, at game list generation or exiting the loader? (I didn't check all the sources yet)
I noticed @blackb0x has recently merged my caching feature into his debug build: https://github.com/wiidev/usbloadergx/commits/debug

It looks like he will eventually have a new release of his enhanced build.

I haven't tried @Oddx additional caching changes.. yet.. but maybe @Oddx could open a Pull Request for @blackb0x repo...

@Cyan --> do you ever plan to pull @blackb0x enhanced changes into the "Official Usb Loader GX"
 

Oddx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
145
Country
United States
I have [email protected], I can make a dump to check new bad block, I didn't took the time to do it yet.
thank you for the suggestion and wanting to help.

I have an old bootmii dump, and I don't remember if Bootmii can move bad block automatically if the bad block count are different.
my idea is to make a new dump.
try to restore old one (maybe it's just a corrupted system file, not NAND cells), if not working then use ohne to fix/move blocks from my old dump based on new bad block map? if possible. I never used Ohne so I don't know all the features yet.

I don't know if bootmii will avoid bad blocks on its own.

look into using ohneschwanzenegger. It will make a clean nand dump from NUS. It can copy your wii specific stuff from your original bootmii nand dump. The new bootmii dump would only be to get the new badblock list that you can feed into ohneschwanzenegger when it builds your new clean nand and possibly be able to extract game saves/mii's from. the ohneschwanzenegger utility is designed to revirginize your wii but it may help in your case if the wii just corrupt and not actually broken.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/EOsMDrT_X6I