Hacking USB Loader GX

  • Thread starter cyrex
  • Start date
  • Views 6,464,868
  • Replies 28,036
  • Likes 42

DrHydeno1

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
36
Country
New Zealand
Hi all. Hoping to get a little advice, I'm trying to run .wbfs files from my WD Elements Portable WDBAAR3200ABK which appears to be compatible according to the usb compatibility checklist... "Works great with USB Loader GX Rev741 cIOS38 Rev14, first patition FAT32, second patition WBFS"
I'm using r1272, have checked the game id in backup manager and have the usb plugged into the port closest to the outside of the wii. The drive is freshly formatted to fat32, one partition, mbr.
when i load up USB Loader it shows the game (mario party 9), i select it, title screen displays, press start and it loads back to wii dashboard.

I'm fairly n00b to all this and am trying to figure it out from what i can google but i don't seem to be having any luck.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,471
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,232
Country
Austria
Hi all. Hoping to get a little advice, I'm trying to run .wbfs files from my WD Elements Portable WDBAAR3200ABK which appears to be compatible according to the usb compatibility checklist... "Works great with USB Loader GX Rev741 cIOS38 Rev14, first patition FAT32, second patition WBFS"
I'm using r1272, have checked the game id in backup manager and have the usb plugged into the port closest to the outside of the wii. The drive is freshly formatted to fat32, one partition, mbr.
when i load up USB Loader it shows the game (mario party 9), i select it, title screen displays, press start and it loads back to wii dashboard.

I'm fairly n00b to all this and am trying to figure it out from what i can google but i don't seem to be having any luck.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Hello.:)

Thank you for your detailed Informations about your Wii Setup.:bow:

the usb plugged into the port closest to the outside of the wii.

index.jpg

This one,I think.:D

Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
You didn't mention any IOS setup. I think you forgot to install the required cIOS. or you did but it got replaced by an official update into a dummy one.
You need d2x cIOS v8 final in your slot 249, preferably based on IOS57.

there are few guides on how to do it, Alexander will provide a link (I know you have the link ready !)
Edit:
complete packs for wii and vWii, only missing the vWii mod for ustealth.
http://gbatemp.net/posts/5812338
follow the "d2x installer" section. it's not a visual step by step guide, but should be easy to follow if you know how to unzip a file on SD card using a computer.
yeah, most issues I had to deal with are users who don't understand how to use a computer!


you only need one cIOS (in slot249, base57) for most games.
but sometime you might need other "base", but for now I don't recommend to install the three usually suggested by guides*. only one cIOS in slot249, and if a game doesn't work you can ask. there are not a lot of games requiring another base (spyro, sponge bob, animal crossing... and I think that's all)

Most guides are remnant of the past, with no real purpose or solution to a problem.
they make you install things which might not be needed, and not install some you might need (for example, animal crossing needs a base38, but no guide would tell you or make you install that)



If you want to learn what a cIOS is, how the console uses it, you can read here:
(please, don't install the mentioned files, for the moment these are for Wii-mini only!)
*looking for the link.... please wait....processing....bzzzzz*
edit:
https://gbatemp.net/posts/8968173
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
I finally created a Wiki page for cIOS base compatibility.
https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Wii_cIOS_base_Compatibility_List

I tried to add explanation and guides too, if you spot any error let me know.
Feel free to correct the game's titles too. for example I used "spyro" but I guess it's not its full name and there are probably different spyro games.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
thank you for the proper name (I didn't check a real syscheck report before writing that).

My purpose wasn't really to mention two version, but to explain how slots and bases are commonly written. I might use "v8 final" for both to make things less complicated for users.
Edit: Actually, only one example of what syscheck looks like might be easier.
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

RunningSnakes

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
759
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,370
Country
United States
I have a few others you may want to add to the wiki @Cyan

Band Hero use base [56]
Guitar Hero 5 use base [56].
^^^^Both of these work using [38+37] but Nand emulation does not work for me^^^^


Worms: Battle Island use base [56].
^^^^[38+37] also works^^^^
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

tswntk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,001
Trophies
0
XP
1,744
Country
Switzerland
There are a number of COD games, IIRC "Call of Duty - Black Ops" definitely requires base 57
The others, I am not sure:
Call of Duty - Modern Warfare - Reflex Edition (stock ios 55)
Call of Duty - Modern Warfare 3 (stock ios 57 - I don't think a base lower than 57 would work here)
Call of Duty - World at War (stock ios 35)
Call of Duty 3 (stock ios?)
 

crumaga

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
37
Country
France
Hello,
Tried to install Just Dance Mods (2020 Plus & Unlimited Plus FYI)
Everything looks fine until I plug my HD on my Wii.
Tried to launch it through Wii Loader GX, NeoGamma, CFG Usb Loader, WiiFlow, nothing works.
I did a syscheck which is :

sysCheck v2.1.0b19 par Double_A et R2-D2199, Nano
...tourne sous l'IOS58 (rev 6176).

Region: PAL
Menu Systeme 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installe
Date de disque: 2007.02.13

HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert
Hollywood v0x11
Identifiant de la console: 51876387
Boot2 v4
96 titres trouves.
49 IOS trouves sur cette console. 12 sont des stubs.

IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): Pas de patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
IOS12 (rev 526): Pas de patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
IOS21 (rev 1039): Pas de patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): Pas de patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): Pas de patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
IOS31 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): Pas de patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
IOS41 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): Pas de patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
IOS53 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): Pas de patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): Pas de patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
IOS61 (rev 5662): Pas de patches
IOS62 (rev 6430): Pas de patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
IOS80 (rev 6944): Pas de patches
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS223[37] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS236 (rev 1): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Acces NAND
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 31338): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10

Rapport genere le 2020/04/03.


I tried to launch it through CiOS 222,223,224, even base 57, nothing works.
My HDD is in FAT32.
I have different problems while lauching the game :
First of all, I get error 001 if I don't launch it through 222,223, or 224.
If i launch it through USB L GX, I get back to the HC.
If I launch it through CFG USB Loader, I get stuck at the command line screen, with 2 dots.
With WiiFlow, the loading screen freezes.
I really want to play these games but nothing works.. Am I too stupid or something ? bahaha..
All my other games work just fine btw..
Thanks in advance to those genius here on this forum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
Salut,

error#1 is so old I don't remember what it is. I think something about "wrong IOS loaded compared to requested IOS". it shouldn't happen at all.
Which version of the loader are you using? try v3.0 r1271 or r1272

At least, your syscheck is good. do not modify your console.

If it freeze/black screen/exit when launching the game, you probably plugged in the wrong USB Port,

if it's in the good port, the HDD is not compatible.
often due to enclosure not compatible, or using a flashdrive (clé usb) instead of HDD.

But if other games are working, then maybe just the ISO is a bad dump?
Try to verify the game in WiiBackupManager with the Sha1 option.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

crumaga

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
37
Country
France
Yeah, it is something like that. The modder says it needs to launch on 222, but it reboots when launching on 222.
I'm on port 0.. None of the 2 Just Dance works on this.
I'll check which loader i'm using. I think I use the latest update..
Do you think it could be the HDD, even if other games work on it ?
It might also be because the iso is big ? It is like 5GB ...

Thanks for the quick response. :)

UPDATE :

Ok so games are actually good, according to Sha1 from Wii BM.
With 3.0 r1272 I get a black screen, and then I get back to the Wii Home Menu (Or HC, depending of where I launch the USB Loader) . With both USB Ports.
I tried 222,223,224 : Black Screen.
With 250 : Black Screen as well on port1. on port0 : "Error #001 : Unathorized device has been detected."
I will try with a flashdrive, but I think it might do the same black screen.
I don't understand why it doesn't work I don't have any clue....
 
Last edited by crumaga,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
maybe verify the .wbfs file is not write protected?
it's rare, but it can be an issue on FAT32. file properties, be sure the "read only" is not enabled.

you don't need 222 (on WiiU vWii there's not even that cIOS), d2x are enough with either base56 or 57. no need of hermes cIOS anymore.
your problem is something else, apparently "game not found" (by rebooting the console or returning to the menu)

Maybe the path to the game is not good ?
or its titleID?
it's the original game or a modded version ?
the path need to match the internal titleID of the game.

for example, if in the ISO's header there is "SNMP01" (mario), but your file and folder are named "SNMP03" (modded mario), it'll not work.
you can usually see the TitleID in WBM, but it should properly create the folder and filename accordingly.
unless you copied the WBFS file yourself manually on the HDD?
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: crumaga

crumaga

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
37
Country
France
Game ain't working on vWii. This is why 222 is apparently needed
I don't know why, but modder told it on his discord. When I installed the game on the HDD, my HD was in WBFS, but i used WBFS2FAT to convert it without losing my data (other backups).
I installed the game with Backup Manager so I guess titleID matches the folder name.
It is a modded version based on Just Dance 2016 I think.
Merci encore !
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,471
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,232
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Did you maybe have emuNANDSaves on ?
If yes please try and disable the Option.
Some Games results in a Black Screen when starting them.
I only have the Just Dance Unlimited Party Modification
and it has to be turned off but because of every Restart the Save is corrupted.
And this also needs the Video Mode set to "Force NTSC" and
Language to "English".
It uses cIOS 249 (IOS249[57] (rev 21, Info: d2x-v10beta52))

Maybe this helps.
Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
  • Like
Reactions: crumaga

MrPeach2

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
61
XP
52
Country
United States
I've got r1272 with plugin support and parental controls working. I'll probably push the changes to my GitHub when I've got more time.

Switching between plugins and launching games does works with USB Loader GX, but you can tell that addon support was tagged on. Like it doesn't integrate with a lot of the loaders options, it doesn't cache anything and it feels very incomplete when compared to WiiFlow Lite. So personally I'd recommend WiiFlow Lite if you're going to use plugins as it'll give you a much more polished experience.


I understand that some people would rather stick with what they're familiar with, so I could publish an updated version of the USB Loader GX plugin mod if it's in demand. I don't plan on adding any more features to it though.

Is your mod based on fledge68's mod? I'm interested in taking this up, so I'm looking for source changes, his, yours, whatever rather than re-inventing the wheel.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,618
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,076
Country
France
Game ain't working on vWii. This is why 222 is apparently needed
that sentence doesn't make sense to me.
maybe the contrary? "it needs 222, that's why it's not working on vWii" because there's no hermes cIOS on vWii?

plus, "222" doesn't really tell what you are using. this is just a slot number.
if a "modder" on a random chat room tells you to "use 222" he doesn't really understand what he is talking about.
you can install anything in that slot number.

My 222 is different than yours, and probably than this "modder".

Your 222 : IOS222[38] hermesrodries-v6
My 222 : 222[38+37]v4


It is a modded version based on Just Dance 2016 I think.
That mod is probably not done correctly?
Did you try another loader? try with wiiflow to see if it's an issue with how USBGX handle modded games with edited TitleIDs.
I still think the problem is the internal (game header) titleID mismatching with the titleID used by the loader. maybe the titleID is located at different place in the iso, not only the header. No idea how that mod was created, but baybe using WWT to re-write the TitleID could fix it properly?
 
Last edited by Cyan,

hadi aulia

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
733
Country
Indonesia
Hello,
Tried to install Just Dance Mods (2020 Plus & Unlimited Plus FYI)
Everything looks fine until I plug my HD on my Wii.
Tried to launch it through Wii Loader GX, NeoGamma, CFG Usb Loader, WiiFlow, nothing works.
I did a syscheck which is :

sysCheck v2.1.0b19 par Double_A et R2-D2199, Nano
...tourne sous l'IOS58 (rev 6176).

Region: PAL
Menu Systeme 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installe
Date de disque: 2007.02.13

HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert
Hollywood v0x11
Identifiant de la console: 51876387
Boot2 v4
96 titres trouves.
49 IOS trouves sur cette console. 12 sont des stubs.

IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): Pas de patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
IOS12 (rev 526): Pas de patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): Pas de patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
IOS21 (rev 1039): Pas de patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): Pas de patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): Pas de patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
IOS31 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): Pas de patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): Pas de patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
IOS41 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): Pas de patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): Pas de patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
IOS53 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): Pas de patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): Pas de patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): Pas de patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
IOS61 (rev 5662): Pas de patches
IOS62 (rev 6430): Pas de patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
IOS80 (rev 6944): Pas de patches
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS223[37] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS236 (rev 1): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Acces NAND
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, Acces NAND, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 31338): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10

Rapport genere le 2020/04/03.


I tried to launch it through CiOS 222,223,224, even base 57, nothing works.
My HDD is in FAT32.
I have different problems while lauching the game :
First of all, I get error 001 if I don't launch it through 222,223, or 224.
If i launch it through USB L GX, I get back to the HC.
If I launch it through CFG USB Loader, I get stuck at the command line screen, with 2 dots.
With WiiFlow, the loading screen freezes.
I really want to play these games but nothing works.. Am I too stupid or something ? bahaha..
All my other games work just fine btw..
Thanks in advance to those genius here on this forum.
When you say just dance mod maybe youre refering to just dance unlimited party?

If that so you need base 38
*Deleted link to Hermes base 38 IOS* by Cyan
Install that wad file using wad manager,i use wiimod lite

That fix the problem using usbloader gx,strangely it still blackscreen when you use wiiflow lite
 
Last edited by Cyan,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I only beat 4; played some of 3 and the start of 2