USB Loader GX: "USB Device not initialized. Switching to channel list mode."

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by The T, Mar 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The T
    OP

The T Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 29, 2016
    United States
    This is my first time trying to set up Backups, and it's been a total nightmare.

I have grabbed USB Loader GX from it's thread here; updated it in the app itself.

I've used Wii Backup Manager to format the drive (FAT32, 32K) and move the WBFS files onto the USB drive.

And when launching it, after it does the initial setup (or any time I go and select what types of files to show), I get the error message "USB Device not initialized. Switching to channel list mode."

Going into the settings and choosing the top option of the 3rd menu item (sorry, it's not in front of me) does not let me initialize it; clicking it has no effect at all.

What am I doing wrong?

2. person66

person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

Jun 16, 2009
    Canada
    Canada
    Make sure you are plugging it into the USB port closest to the edge of the Wii. I don't know what kind of drive you are using, but it may need more power than the wii provides. If you have one of those cables that plug in to two usb ports you could try that (make sure the main plug goes into the edge usb port). It may also just an incompatible drive, see if it works with a different drive (even a thumb drive or something would work, just to test it).

3. The T
    OP

The T Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 29, 2016
    United States
    Yeah, it's in the right spot; when it isn't in the right spot, it hangs on a timer (until I press B) during the black loading screen.

It's an 8 GB flash drive; Are flash drives an issue, or should they work fine?

I guess if there are no other options, I will grab another flash drive when I can and try it.

4. dragonjud

dragonjud Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Aug 29, 2009
    United States