Usb Loader GX kicking me back to Homebrew menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by PeachedPocky, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    Hello! I am very new when it comes to Homebrew, or anything involving hacked wii's. My boyfriend soft modded my wii for me using letter bomb the other day, and downloaded Homebrew, then GX loader. He set stuff up on my USB and put one game on it, Harvest Moon TOT, and it was working fine- even with cheats from Ocarina (another thing he downloaded). Today, he came over to give me another game before he left for a couple days- he put the game Pandoras Tower on the usb, and then left before testing of it worked.

    I tried loading the game the way I did with Harvest Moon, but it kicked me back to the Homebrew menu. Then it did it again when I tried to load Harvest Moon.

    He's not answering his texts so I'm unsure what to do :( I already tried formatting my USB again and putting the games on with WiiBackup Manager. Did the same thing again :(

    Sorry if this is unhelpful information, please help if you can! This is very upsetting for me :(
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    reseting when loading a game means the game can't be find.
    So it's either :
    - you connected the drive to the wrong USB Port! (on Wii, you need to connect it to the bottom port, on WiiU to the top port on the back)
    - the ISO is bad (but if it doesn't work for both games, it's probably not that issue)
    - The loader is set to a wrong setting. verify that your game's IOS is set to 249 in the settings>loader settings.

    for the moment, it's more likely to be the USB Port.
    switch it and try again.
     
  3. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada

    I tried switching the ports, and it didn't make a difference either time. And the loader is set to 249 as well. I have tried three different games now so I don't think it's the iso... Any other ideas??
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    did your friend touched the installed files on the console? he changed the cIOS?
    or did he just add a new game to your hdd?

    If it's not the ISO and not the usbport, it could be the IOS (the system files of the console).
    Did you update the console recently? maybe to play a game from system menu? if you did, it replaced the file that USBLoader is using.

    before doing any changes, lets just check what you have.
    could you try to run a homebrew and post the result here?
    Look in my signature, there's a link to "syscheck" tutorial. You follow that tutorial, run the homebrew and post the result here.
    we will see your console's internal file system.
     
  5. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    I havent updated anything, and my wii menu has been up to date for the past year or so. I haven't replaced anything, all that happened was we took my USB and used WIIBackup manager and put another game on the usb, then it created this problem.

    Here is my SysCheck tho :

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  6. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    Sorry forgot to quote
     
  7. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    sorry for the delay.
    thank you for the report, I can see your system file responsible for USB loading has been replaced by a "stub" one. (a non working one used by nintendo to prevent piracy)
    a system update definitely happened.


    You will have to reinstall the custom IOS.
    download the cIOS installer
    extract the content to a new folder in your /apps/

    so you should have :
    sd:/apps/a new folder/ everything extracted here

    sd:/apps/IOS installer/boot.dol
    sd:/apps/IOS installer/meta.xml
    sd:/apps/IOS installer/icon.png
    sd:/apps/IOS installer/ciosmap.xml
    sd:/apps/IOS installer/and 3 folders

    on your wii, run that homebrew (d2x cIOS installer)
    when it asks you what to install, press D-pad to change the info to :

    What : d2x v8 final
    where : slot 249
    base : 56
    version : 21008
    press A to install everything, then home to exit

    Done :)
    you can play again!

    edit:
    oops, quoting you too, to get the notification ;)
    @PeachedPocky
     
    cvskid likes this.
  8. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada

    Well i did have to reconnect to the internet to get Ocarina (my modem got reset) could connecting to the internet have caused this? I'm trying what you told me to do now, ill be back to see if it worked.
     
  9. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    no, the connection alone is not enough to update the console. you need to press the update button or accept the installation when playing a game from Disc channel.

    if you often play from disc channel instead of USBLoader, instead of version 21008 you can select 65535. it will prevent the update prompt and getting it overwritten again.
     
  10. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    SO like... If i just play a normal disk game through the disk Channel? THat happened, i was playign SUper Mario Galaxy right before my boufriend showed up to instal the game.
    SO i gotta play the disk games trough the GX loader? I know how to do that (I figured it out on accident one day) And that will prevent problems? Also im not sure what you mean by
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    yes, that will prevent it, and I find it easier to dump all your games to USB and have a nice game list without having to insert the disc.

    what I meant :
    I said to install the IOS 249 with a version number 21008
    if a game contains a superior version of that IOS, it get replaced. nintendo created a fake IOS 249 with version 65280, which is higher and always replace the one with version 21008.
    so, there's an option in the cIOS installer to change the version to a higher value than the nintendo file : 65535

    it will allow you to play games from disc channel without the game wanting to "update" that file with the fake one.
     
  12. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    I only have a 16gb drive, so I've been using games i dont have, and then I'll start making sure i load my disk games from the GX Loader, and then problem solved? If this workes, i mean,

    EDIT: WHich it does work, now! Thankyou very much for helping!
     
    Cyan likes this.
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    yes.

    if you install the cIOS with version 21008, be sure to run the game from USBLoaderGX.
    if you install the cIOS with version 65535, you can play your discs from the Disc channel too. it could be a good idea if you don't have a big USB drive.
    OR
    you can also launch the discs directly from the USBLoaderGX without installing to USB !
    click on the disc icon in the top-right corner of the loader's menu and it will bypass all updates.
     
  14. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    I've already installed it- I'm not sure if I can do it again with a different number? Besides, it would be more simpler for me to just use the GX loader. Thank you for all your help!
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,703
    8,304
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You can reinstall it, it will overwrite the old one. you don't need to delete it to replace it.

    If you have games not working, you might have to install another cIOS.
    Call of Duty, and some music games require a cIOS with base 57 instead of base56.

    Usually, it's installed in slot250 :

    d2x v8 final
    slot 250
    base 57
    version 21008

    that way, you have :
    base56 in slot249 for 90% compatibility
    base57 in slot250 for 5% compatibility (music game like just dance, and call of duty)
    remaining % are incompatible games


    for the game which require base57, in USBLoaderGX you can edit the game settings to tell which IOS slot to use. set that game to slot 249 or 250 based on your needs.
    if everything works fine, don't bother with installing a new cIOS. just keep the one you have.
     
  16. Wizardkoer

    Wizardkoer Wii Veteran

    Member
    425
    81
    Jul 14, 2015
    Australia
    Try installing ios 224 base57 then setting usb loader gx to run this specific game with ios 224. It sounds confusing but private message me for the link to downloading it. Ask you boyfriend to do this: Install the ios 224 base 57 and then ask him to set usb loader gx to run the game using ios 224. Should work fine then.
     
  17. PeachedPocky
    OP

    PeachedPocky Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 28, 2015
    Canada
    Thanks but no thanks, as you can see the matter has been resolved, I'm not gonna screw around with anything anymore. It works so I'm not gonna change it.
     
  18. Wizardkoer

    Wizardkoer Wii Veteran

    Member
    425
    81
    Jul 14, 2015
    Australia
    Oh its been solved? thats good :)
     
  19. DragonSlaya76

    DragonSlaya76 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Nov 25, 2015
    United States
    I have the same problem for trying to play a game using usbloader and I get directed back to the homebrew channel.
    I tried using cIOS installer but it doesn't show me d2x v8 final, it only has d2x v6 and lower.

    I would really like good description on how to fix this problem.
     
  20. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,860
    737
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    You have to download the zip file for the version of d2x you want to install and unpack it into the installer's app directory.