Hacking USB Loader GX 3.0 not seeing HDD - Was working fine earlier in day

Brad2157

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am completely new to the world of wii backup loaders. I just set up the wii two days ago, used the letterbomb hack, and installed the homebrew channel and installed USB Loader GX 3.0 ..... Everything was working great until tonight. I am using a western digital mybook 750gb external HDD and have always had to plug it in after I start USB loader GX, otherwise it freezes up every single time. Even this has worked great for me, up until tonight. I noticed after I started up the wii, I had a new message. I went to check it and it was from nintendo telling me there was an update that I could install and to click the bottom right button to install it. I knew better than to do any updates, so I ignored the update and went to start the USB loader channel, in which I could not get it to load from my HDD. Once the 20 second countdown timer started, from looking for the hdd, I plugged in the external drive as always and as soon as it "saw" the drive plugged in, it stopped the countdown timer and freezes up. If I let it sit long enough, the countdown timer jumps to -43 or -42 typically and then goes to a error message in USB loader saying it could not find the drive. Any ideas on what is going on here? it was working fine, I did NOT update it, and now it will not see my drive at all. I have plugged up the hdd to my PC and I see the NTFS drive fine with the wbfs file folder on the only partition drive letter. I have also tried to put a wfbs backup game on a flash drive and try it in the wii, still get the same results. I then went as far as to completely redo the entire process of softmodding the wii, still get the same results. I just don't understand why it worked fine for a few days, then tonight it will not see the drive what so ever. I have tried multiple time, but same results each time.

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Trophies