USB Loader = Could not initialize USB subsystem! (ret = -6)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dipswitch, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. dipswitch
    OP

    Newcomer dipswitch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried several USB devices and each time I get this error > Could not initialize USB subsystem! (ret = -6)

    Anyone know what could be the problem? I also just got a 1TB Seagate Free Agent Xtreme and I get the same error.
     
  2. WiiMonkey

    Member WiiMonkey GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got this error and ill i did was reformat the drive and it worked

    EDIT: I got Could not initialize USB subsystem! (ret = -1) lol
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did you install waninkoko's custom ios rev9?
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,346
    Location:
    Sandy, UT
    Country:
    United States
    That error means you don't have cIOS installed. Go to it.
     
  5. dipswitch
    OP

    Newcomer dipswitch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure that I did. Is there any way that I can tell?
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,346
    Location:
    Sandy, UT
    Country:
    United States
    What you can do is go install rev9 again. That's the best way to make sure you have it.
     
  7. nintendolinky

    Member nintendolinky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just install it again if your not sure. It wont harm the wii.
     
  8. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is an AC powered HDD, wait 5 or 10 secs before booting the USB Loader and you will have no problem [​IMG]
     
  9. dipswitch
    OP

    Newcomer dipswitch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States

    Ok I reinstalled cIOS rev9 and its working now. I know I had installed it before cause I remember the thrash music in the installer. Oh well, its working now. Thanks guys!
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,346
    Location:
    Sandy, UT
    Country:
    United States
    Rev8 also had the music, so you might have installed that before. But now that it works, who cares?
     
  11. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    United States
    Hahaha totally forgot about that till you said something, it took me by surprise. I was like "....whoa!! metal on my wii during a cIOS install!?"
     
  12. fraudster111

    Newcomer fraudster111 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    i had the same problem but when i try to install the rev9 i get error -1 WHY!?!?!?!!? im like the only one who isnt enjoying free games. someone pleaseeeeeee HELP ME
     

Share This Page