USB as HDD on a slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by BORTZ, Aug 28, 2012.

Aug 28, 2012

USB as HDD on a slim by BORTZ at 3:51 AM (741 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. BORTZ
    OP

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,639
    Country:
    United States
    So i reticently purchased a slim from the jungles of Amazon. Used and without a HDD (im giving the seller bad marks for that), I am forced to use a jump drive for now. Its a 16 gig PNY drive. It formats and works... the problem is that it works every time.
    By that i mean i have to go through downloading updates and my gamer profile EVERY TIME I TURN OFF THE XBOX.

    So clearly using a USB drive as a HDD isnt a good idea, unless im doing something wrong.

    In the mean time, im working on getting ahold of a screw driver to connect my old phat HDD as my slim one. Its only 12gigs but it will do right? You can connect a phat HDD to a slim if you take it out of the case right?
     
  2. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think that's supposed to happen.
    Yes that'll work. Just plug it in right, and it'll work without you needing a Slim HDD enclosure.
    Can I have a Amazon link for the Slim you bought?
     
  3. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can fit it in even without a Slim casing.

    Just stuff it up on both sides with news paper.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    12gigs? hope you mean 120gb

    I bought a 4GB slim and put my old phat 120GB hdd in it, eventually I bought a case for also
    I didnt have the screwdriver for it either (its a torx 6 screw I think) but got it open with my drill
     
  5. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    He might mean a 20GB one, as it does format to 13.9GBs. Either way it'll work find, but you might need a bit more space than 13.9GBs for the updates, games, DLC, and such.
     
  6. BORTZ
    OP

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,639
    Country:
    United States
    Oh Devin, i knew i could count on you. This is the sellers page I bought from.

    Oh and another thing, I have played online a few times already (using the USB stick) but tonight i kept getting a couple of errors.

    First it said i needed and update that wasnt available (WTF) then told me i was connected to the internet but not Xbox live and it was a problem with my connection :S
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can also grab a 250 or 320 GB WD Scorpio drive and run HDDHackr on it.

    It'll create a 360 compatible HDD ;]
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. BORTZ
    OP

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,639
    Country:
    United States
    I really appreciate all the help guys. I though the 360 forums were dead lol

    Ok so to update you on my situation.
    So I did heartdrive surgery and now have a 20 gig slim lol. That should fix my weird issues i was having with my flash drive. I now have a headset and everything. I think im set to go.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sweet.

    Glad I could help~
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page