Urgent help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Livin in a box, Jul 30, 2008.

Jul 30, 2008

Urgent help by Livin in a box at 5:34 PM (3,088 Views / 0 Likes) 42 replies

  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just put on my WiiKey with Wii-Clip, put it partially together, but now the Wii won't take in discs or eject anything anymore. I did everything normally and all went fine, but now this has happened. I need you to help me, fast.
     


  2. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check if you didn't screw up the connections on the board that you put the modchip in. (There are cables on the board there - four on one side and two on other)
     
  3. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't touch any of the cables. None. Took none out, not even on the faceplate or the inside. I'll take the chip out and see if it makes a difference. If I tell my parents though, they'll have a right go at me...and I can't afford to send it to Nintendo.
     
  4. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These cables are very poorly soldered in.
    Check if something isn't in the drive, eg. a screw or something...
     
  5. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should I try putting a game in the drive before I plug everything in, i.e. when it's apart? A game like Wii Sports?

    EDIT: OK, I think that I hadn't put it on properly because it seems to be working ine now that i've taken it off and put it on again. I'll put my Wii back together and see if all is fine.
     
  6. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay then [​IMG]
     
  7. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    The DVD drive is a very sensitive thing... if you have a GF, just say one thing wrong, and she blows up, right? that's the Wii drive, lol

    If you take it apart, and the drive won't do anything, just unplug the Wii, reposition EVERYTHING, make it sit nice and pretty, and try again... it'll work.
     
  8. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He said it's working for him now.
     
  9. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I just ask before this thread dies away, (it's all working now; but I can hear it inside) I have downloaded a Boom Blox ISO. It says on winRAR that it is 'Boom Blox(compressed) iso'. If I burn this file, will it work on my Wii?
     
  10. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should
     
  11. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, i'll try it now. If it doesn't then i'm blaming you.
     
  12. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    Okay...
     
  13. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    When they have COMPRESSED in them, that means it was WiiScrubbed... the extra data at the end is replaced by 00's so when it's zipped or rared it makes the file smaller (ie. WiiSports is only a few hundred meg, but when it's in true Wii format, it's 4.3gig)

    It will work just fine! Enjoy playing!
     
  14. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, i'm burning it now at 3x on a Kodak disc. I know that the chip must work because i've out Zelda in and that booted fine. So this thread can be locked or whatever you do to these threads.
     
  15. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3x? ... [​IMG]
    Why not 4x?
     
  16. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It won't exactly make much difference.
     
  17. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, i've just tried to burn it with ImgBurn but it hasn't burnt anything! It said at the end that it was successful and everything, but the disc was empty. I'm going to try again, but does anyone know why it's done that?
     
  18. Neversoft

    Member Neversoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It may sound like a silly question, but you don't have the "Test Mode" option ticked in imgburn do you... Maybe you mis-clicked the verify option?
     
  19. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Er...yes I did...Was that a problem?
     
  20. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ya' mean that you open the disc by My computer -> Your disc, or IMGburn says that?

    Ah heck, insert the disc... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page