Upgrading to 4.1U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by VashTS, Oct 13, 2009.

Oct 13, 2009

Upgrading to 4.1U by VashTS at 1:37 AM (1,083 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    In theory I should be able to install IOS60 then sysmenu 4.1 wad and it should work right? I want to upgrade a wii that has no online capability that is why I ask...I'm gonna see if it will take bootmii to boot2 first before anything...its an old wii so it should but I don't remember I hacked it 5-6 months ago and used an older style to hack...thanks for any answers
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    follow my guide.
     
  3. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    this is the only relevant part:
    3] Run Dop-IOS MOD
    Choose IOS249 and press A.
    Press right until you see IOS53.
    Press A to select then press yes to install and Sig Hash Check.
    Press right until you see IOS55.
    Press A to select then press yes to install and Sig Hash Check.
    Press right until you see IOS60.
    Press - to select then press yes to install and Sig Hash Check.
    Press right until you see IOS61.
    Press A to select then press yes to install and no for Sig Hash Check.
    Press home to return to HBC.
    then the next step says to install system menu 4.1 wad

    no internets to access with dop-ios or else i would use waninkoko's updater to 4.1
    If I install ios 60 and system menu 4.1 that should work right?
     
  4. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    my guide is completely offline
     
  5. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    where is dop-ios getting ios60 from? its not included in the package i'm looking through it now

    edit ah methinks i see it, in the 0000001 folder

    ps ive been wondering is mios patcher offline? its been so long i don't remember
     
  6. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    so it seems mios is offline, however ios61 will not install...strange issue, but i don't want to install sysmenu 4.1 without having 61 in there first, i know its independent of the system menu and since this wii is offline there is no need for wii shop, bootmii is in there as boot2 along with a backup of the nand as it is now on 3.1 the main reason to do this is to block disc updates and move the official disc channel so my cousins won't update by accident...

    so IOS60 is in there, patched with DOP-IOS...
    IOS61 will not install, states it needs internets to do so...
    is it ok to install system menu 4.1 if I don't need the wii shop?

    i know my wii's HBC uses ios61 thats why I am nervous
     
  7. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    got internets working, no need for help
     
  8. Ramzee

    Newcomer Ramzee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've had a lucky escape.

    It seems that if you use wani's 4.1 updater it installs the latest IOS60 v6400 (which is a stub) and the 4.1 System Menu and you end up with a brick (unless you have a boot2 installed BootMii and a nand backup).
     
  9. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    yeah thanks for the answers, i wouldn't have done anything without bootmii in boot2 anyway,
     

Share This Page