Upgrading to 3.10 OE-A

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Harsky, Mar 12, 2007.

Mar 12, 2007

Upgrading to 3.10 OE-A by Harsky at 6:21 PM (789 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My PSP was neglected for a while so I decided to dust it off and have a quick go on the Metal Slug ISO I got. Sadly I realised it required the latest 3.10 oe and my current one is a 3.03 oe-c. If I follow the instructions correctly when upgrading it, does that mean all the stuff that was already on my memory stick stay intact or do I have to format the stick before upgrading it?
     
  2. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Question, are you using the (E) metal slug iso? Thats the one I have and it doesnt require the update.

    I've never heard of losing data while updating unless you dont follow directions. You dont have this problem, but everyone should do research before upgrading anything.

    P.S.
    long live 3.03OE-C
     
  3. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I'm just upgrading it to get the whole hassle out of the way when a future PSP ISO is out that won't work on 3.03 oe-c. Honestly, the only thing I'm using the PSP for is reading manga and watching anime. If it wasn't for that, I would've sold it a long time ago
     
  4. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    if you are following the steps exactly, it would tell you to format your memory stick first as a just in case precaution. however, if you're confident of what you're doing and your memory stick, go ahead and just make the dxar file from the 1.5/3.10 firmware and then proceed to upgrade to 3.10OE-A....then afterwards run a quick update to A' and you'll be fine. Only thing you need to delete are the update folders and the debug folder it the upgrader creates in the root directory. everything else stays the same.
     
  5. decept

    Member decept GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    tama_mog is correct. So long as you have sufficient free space on your card you should be fine without losing anything. If you don't have enough space, you can always move all your data to your hard drive while you do the update. Then format after you update and transfer back all your data.
     

Share This Page