Hacking Upgrading Ps3 from 3.41 ofw to cfw Help Required

shanefromoz

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
Hi All,

Currently my ps3 is on 3.41 and i use a ps3key to jailbreak.
I was thinking of upgrading to 3.55cfw but unsure which i should use.
There are Kmeaw 3.55 + Geohot 3.55cfw + PS3ITA which one is best?
Im not worried about going online but it would be nice.
I understand i need the original eboot for the games as i currently use modified eboots for my games.
Also if someone could help me with an install guide that would be awesome.
Or is there a site setup where i can easily grab modified eboots for 3.41 when new games are released?
If i upgrade will i lose all my games and saves from the ps3 hard drive?
Im an upgrade noob so sorry for so many questions.

Cheers

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
kmeaw 3.55 is the most popular one because it runs unsigned code. The "best" one would be one you make yourself.

I use kmeaw 3.55. From 3.41, update to 3.55 OFW, then replace the update file with the 3.55 CFW and update again. You can install lv2 v9 patcher incase any backup managers have problems.

3.55, as far as I've seen so far, does not need any modified eboots or any other modified files for that matter. Also you will not lose any files at all for updating to 3.55 or installing CFW, although some people do advise backing up your save files just in case. I didn't, and I'm fine. EDIT: It should work with modified eboots too, although I'm not too sure about it. I've never been able to tell the difference when downloading games.

All of this is detailed in this guide, which is stickied. If you read the posts in this section in the last week, you'll probably also have noticed the author of that guide saying "use my softmod guide" with a link in a lot of those threads.

Once you've read that guide fully, if you still have any questions, you can ask again.

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Trophies
XP
Country
United States