Upgrading HDD on CFW PS3?

8BitWalugi

Taiyohhhhhh!
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,452
Trophies
0
Location
Side 7
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,348
Country
Australia
Hi there,

I’m interested in upgrading my CFW PS3’s HDD to an SSD. I’m just wondering however, during the hard drive upgrade process I need to reinstall the OS. Do I need to use the same CFW version that the current hard drive has installed, or does just the version number need to match?

I believe the console is running 4.85 CFW, would it be safe to install 4.88 OFW and then reinstall CFW?

Any help is appreciated
 

Magsor

I am watching you
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
1,314
Trophies
0
Location
Amos
XP
1,121
Country
Canada
I would skip OFW. Everything is safe of course because in the end you can pop your old hard drive in and it will work given that its the same version number as your console. Use a CFW for the upgrade? Upgrade your CFW first? Cloning your hard drive is also a thing I have seeen recommended.
 

Eveldee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
190
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
767
Country
France
Also, I've not tried it myself but a lot of people said that the PS3 can't match SSD speed as it' hardware is not powerful enough, even recent hard drives aren't used at 100% so I don't think that the upgrade is worth. But you can still upgrade your HDD capacity with a limit at 2TB iirc
 

tglaria

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,308
Country
Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Hi there,

I’m interested in upgrading my CFW PS3’s HDD to an SSD. I’m just wondering however, during the hard drive upgrade process I need to reinstall the OS. Do I need to use the same CFW version that the current hard drive has installed, or does just the version number need to match?

I believe the console is running 4.85 CFW, would it be safe to install 4.88 OFW and then reinstall CFW?

Any help is appreciated
Just a question?
Why change the HDD with an SSD?

AFAIK there's no noticeable speed upgrade.
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
322
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
740
Country
United States
Just a question?
Why change the HDD with an SSD?

AFAIK there's no noticeable speed upgrade.
IMO the reliability factor is why I use an SSD. I don’t need to worry as much about if my PS3 is going to work in the future after storing/moving it around. (Which isn’t great for a mechanical drive)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SScorpio

SScorpio

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
1,068
Country
United States
While the PS3 can't utilize the full bandwidth of an SSD, the SSD's effectively zero seek time can still provide a massive improvement especially while reading a large number of small files spread across the drive. In a benchmark for an SSD that would give you a low transfer rate on most SSDs, but that low speed is still at the maximum rate the PS3 can utilize.

So the main interface is still silky smooth even while scrolling around with hundreds of games.

When the PS4 came out tests were run and it could fully utilize an SDD either, and the prices were high so people said it's a waste of money upgrade. Now prices of SSDs have become much less expensive. And putting solid-state media in older hardware can make them run a little bit better, and extend their life and there are fewer moving parts, less power draw, and less heat generated.
 

Magsor

I am watching you
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
1,314
Trophies
0
Location
Amos
XP
1,121
Country
Canada
Just a question?
Why change the HDD with an SSD?

AFAIK there's no noticeable speed upgrade.
There would be IMO. The PS3 can accept an 7200 rpm hard drive but only comes with a 5400rpm. You would at the very least match the speed of a 7200 rpm hard drive on top of being cooler.
 

8BitWalugi

Taiyohhhhhh!
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,452
Trophies
0
Location
Side 7
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,348
Country
Australia
Just a question?
Why change the HDD with an SSD?

AFAIK there's no noticeable speed upgrade.
As others have said, I’m more concerned with reliability. My hard drive failed once in the past, causing me to lose hundreds of save files. It was rough.

But yes, just wondering what the upgrade process is. I’m getting some conflicting ideas from other replies in this thread
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,553
Trophies
2
XP
18,439
Country
United States
As others have said, I’m more concerned with reliability. My hard drive failed once in the past, causing me to lose hundreds of save files. It was rough.

But yes, just wondering what the upgrade process is. I’m getting some conflicting ideas from other replies in this thread
Just get a wd drive 9.5mm, laptop hdd.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: So wee on your Wii lol